Canadian-Bacon Strata

Technically, I suppose the “week of breakfast” ended yesterday, but I have one more post for you.  (I’m on a wedding/business trip, and my Saturday was nonstop!)  Canadian-Bacon Strata from the May 2006 issue of Everyday Food is a recipe I actually tried for the first time on Easter.  *Tried* would be the key word here, but I’m not sure I failed for lack of skill.  I was in a condo kitchenette in Whistler, and the 1970s oven had some heat issues.  (As in I had home fries in the oven at 350F, and they weren’t warm to the touch after an hour.  Yikes.)  The strata we ended up with tasted good, but it was really, really wet because things didn’t set up properly.  I decided to give it another try at home with an oven that could do the recipe justice.

First, I buttered a 2-quart baking dish and set it aside.  I split and toasted 4 English muffins, and then cut each half in half.  I also cut 8 slices (8 ounces) of Canadian bacon in half.  I arranged the English muffins and Canadian bacon in the buttered dish, cut side down, alternating between the two.

canadian_bacon_strata1.jpg

Next, I sprinkled the muffins and bacon with 1 1/4 cups of shredded sharp cheddar cheese and 1/3 cup of finely shredded Parmesan cheese.  I set the dish aside.

In a large bowl, I whisked together 8 large eggs, 3 cups of milk, 1 1/2 tablespoons of Dijon mustard, 1/2 teaspoon of salt, a pinch of pepper, and 1/4 teaspoon of Tabasco.  I poured the egg mixture over the muffins and bacon, tightly covered the dish with plastic wrap, and placed the dish in the refrigerator.

The recipe says to refrigerate the strata for 2 hours minimum or up to overnight; I refrigerated mine for about 6 hours.  I put the dish on a baking sheet, removed the plastic wrap, and baked it in oven at 350F for 90 minutes.  I let the strata stand for 10 minutes before serving.

canadian_bacon_strata2.jpg

Dr. O, Brent, Adi, and Caroline…  THIS is what Easter dinner was supposed to look like. 🙂  We did OK, but I think we should have a reunion in Dallas so we can give it another shot.  The strata was puffy and moist, but there was only a trace of moisture at the bottom of the dish.  I’ll definitely be putting this recipe in my rotation of reliable and tasty brunch dishes.

canadian_bacon_strata3.jpg

TIPS:  The strata actually does puff up quite a bit, so make sure you don’t have an oven rack too close to the top of the baking dish.  Also, if the strata begins to brown too quickly, just tent it with foil for the rest of the baking time.  (I tented mine at the 80-minute mark.)

Recipe link: Canadian-Bacon Strata

4 Responses to “Canadian-Bacon Strata”


  1. 1 Haywood Jablowme April 30, 2008 at 12:41 am

    Damn, that one looks really good. What happened to the Falafel?

  2. 2 jfochek April 30, 2008 at 12:44 am

    Cute name, you. I actually used the falafel as an excuse to order myself a gorgeous Kitchenaid food processor, so the falafel is coming soon. Wish you could be here to share it!

  3. 3 Kari November 16, 2008 at 3:48 am

    My dear sweet Jenny!!

    Just wanted to let you know that Jason and I enjoyed this recipe this morning!! I pieced it together last night and set it in the fridge overnight. Popped it in the oven this morning and it was super delicious!! The consistency and flavor were perfect. I’m thinking about mixing in some diced onion next time for an added kick. I’ve now dedicated ever Saturday morning to trying new breakfast recipes……so keep ’em coming!! 🙂

    Loving and missing you sooooo much from San Antonio!! 🙂

  4. 4 jediSwiftPirate October 26, 2011 at 9:09 pm

    holy crap i uberly admire BACON!


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 568 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


