Fast Chicken Fajitas

I *love* fajitas, especially when I can make them myself in 25 minutes. Fast Chicken Fajitas from the March 2008 issue of Everyday Food lets me do just that.

This recipe requires 1 1/2 pounds of chicken cutlets. In case you missed the earlier chicken cutlet discussion, I just take regular chicken breasts and cut them in half horizontally to make cutlets. I arranged the cutlets on a rimmed baking sheet lined with foil and rubbed them with 1 tablespoon of vegetable oil. Next, I sprinkled them with 1 teaspoon of chili powder and seasoned them with salt and pepper. I broiled them, without turning, until they were opaque (about 6 minutes). I removed them from the oven and set them aside.

On a separate foil-lined, rimmed baking sheet, I tossed 3 thinly-sliced bell peppers (ribs and seeds removed), 1 halved and thinly-sliced red onion, 4 thinly-sliced garlic cloves, and 1 tablespoon of vegetable oil. I seasoned the mixture with salt and pepper and broiled it, tossing occasionally, until the vegetables were crisp-tender and slightly charred (about 8 minutes).

While the pepper mixture cooked, I thinly sliced the cooked chicken cutlets crosswise. I also stacked my tortillas, wrapped them in a damp paper towel, and microwaved them until they were warm (about 1 minute). I transferred the chicken and pepper mixture to a dish and served the fajitas on wheat tortillas from Central Market with sour cream and cilantro.

fast_chicken_fajitas.jpg

These aren’t knock-your-socks-off, restaurant-quality fajitas, but they are pretty tasty. The results are definitely worth the minimal time investment. I have to say that I actually liked these *better* the next day as leftovers… I think the chicken soaked up some of the pepper and onion juices overnight. I might marinate the chicken next time for more day-of flavor, but I would definitely make these again.

Recipe link: Fast Chicken Fajitas

0 Responses to “Fast Chicken Fajitas”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


