Salmon Burgers with Yogurt-Dill Sauce

I go through love/hate cycles with certain foods, and salmon is one of them. I adore fish, but salmon is just too rich and too fishy-tasting sometimes. I had quite a grocery list this past week, though, and Central Market was offering a free pound of Atlantic salmon with a $40 purchase. I have a hard time passing up free *quality* seafood, so I figured I could find some recipe that would work. I decided to go with Salmon Burgers with Yogurt-Dill Sauce from the January/February 2008 issue of Everyday Food.

The first step in this recipe was a weird one: I *finely diced* 1 pound of skinless salmon. This took some time (about 15 minutes). Basically, I cut the salmon fillet into thin strips, laid the strips flat, sliced them lengthwise into thinner strips, and then sliced the strips crosswise to dice.

Once I got past the salmon dicing, though, this was ready in a flash. In a medium bowl, I combined the diced salmon, 1 tablespoon of prepared white horseradish, 1/2 teaspoon of grated lemon zest, 1 tablespoon of fresh lemon juice, 1 large egg (lightly beaten), 3 thinly-sliced scallions, 2 tablespoons of plain dried bread crumbs, 1 teaspoon of salt, and 1/8 teaspoon of pepper. I stirred the mixture together gently with a fork.

I formed the salmon mixture into 4 patties, each 3 1/2 inches by 1 inch, and placed them on a foil-lined rimmed baking sheet. I broiled them 4 inches from the heat source for 7 minutes, until they were browned on top and opaque throughout.

Meanwhile, I stirred together 1/2 cup of plain, low-fat yogurt and 1 tablespoon of chopped fresh dill and then seasoned the mixture with salt and pepper. I served the burgers on buns with the yogurt-dill sauce and lettuce.

Salmon Burgers with Yogurt-Dill Sauce

I was actually pleasantly surprised by these burgers. They were really delicious (especially on those hearty Central Market buns) and didn’t taste fishy at all. The yogurt-dill sauce really makes the dish. The lemon flavor was just a bit too pronounced for my taste, so I may cut back on the zest and juice next time. All in all, though, this is a great recipe.

TIPS: I plan to put my salmon in the freezer for 10 minutes next time before I dice it. That should firm the fish up a bit and make the task easier.

Recipe link: Salmon Burgers with Yogurt-Dill Sauce

1 Response to “Salmon Burgers with Yogurt-Dill Sauce”



  1. 1 My Favorite Healthy Recipes « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on February 3, 2010 at 2:34 am

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 568 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


