Request Line! Crepes

Dr. O and I ran into our neighbors Kevin and Elizabeth (and Miss Isabella!) on our way out to run a few errands on Saturday, and Elizabeth asked when I’d be cooking up some crepes. I used to make crepes often for Dr. O when we were in college, but I think I’ve only made them once here in Dallas. I figured it was time to dust off the crepe pan and get to work. 🙂

There are a million crepe recipes out there… I decided to go with a very basic one from Allrecipes.com. Here are the ingredients:

2 eggs
1 cup milk
2/3 cup all-purpose flour
1 pinch salt
1 1/2 teaspoons vegetable oil
2 teaspoons vanilla (I added this ingredient myself since I knew I would be using sweet fillings)

I combined all of the ingredients in a blender until smooth and then I refrigerated the batter for 1 hour to let the flavors blend.

Crepe making is a little tricky because you end up working with several variables – the consistency of the crepe batter, the type and size of crepe pan, and the stove burner temperature. This batter was nice and thin, and I was using a 9 1/2-inch De Buyer Blue Steel crepe pan.

I hit my stride about 5 crepes into the cooking process. The recipe said to use 1/4 cup of batter over medium-high heat. For the size of my crepe pan, I needed somewhere between 1/4 and 1/3 cup of batter (I used a 1/3-cup measuring cup but didn’t completely fill it), and my crepes turned out best over medium heat. For each crepe, I lightly brushed the crepe pan with vegetable oil, poured my batter into the pan, and then quickly swirled it around the entire surface of the pan. I cooked the crepes for about 1 minute on each side.

I had some fun with the fillings… Dr. O and I had some terrific crepes in Vancouver over Easter, and one of the choices at the creperie was a strawberry/Nutella combination. I just happened to have those ingredients on hand – lucky us!

Chocolate Nutella Crepe

The next flavor combination was banana and butterscotch caramel, which was also delicious.

Banana Butterscotch Caramel Crepe

I also cooked up some wonderful cinnamon apples, but they didn’t photograph well. (Apples and crepes are just about the same color.) We wrapped up each crepe and topped it with a little Cool Whip – yum!

E & K, this was my practice run… Look for a delivery this week! 🙂

TIPS: I used a silicone brush to brush my crepe pan with oil. (I have this one.) They’re perfect for working with high heat and they won’t shed like the boar’s hair brushes.

Flipping crepes isn’t the easiest thing, unfortunately. I used a flexible spatula to loosen the edges, but I ended up having to use a combination of the spatula and my hands to flip the crepes without bunching or folding them. The results were worth the effort, though!

Recipe link: Crepes

0 Responses to “Request Line! Crepes”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


