Spinach and Pepper Pita Pizzas

Today’s recipe – Spinach and Pepper Pita Pizzas from the April 2004 issue of Everyday Food – is a leftover from last week’s run of quick meals. I think this one takes the prize, though, for being fastest and easiest (and delicious on top of that!).

The ingredient list is short and sweet: 4 mini whole-wheat pitas (I could only find regular-sized ones, which worked fine), 2 cups of thinly sliced spinach, 1/2 cup of thinly sliced roasted red peppers (jarred peppers are fine), and 2 – 3 ounces of shredded Havarti cheese.

I placed the pitas on a baking sheet and topped each one with 1/2 cup of the sliced spinach. Dividing evenly, I topped the pitas with the peppers and shredded cheese and seasoned them with salt and pepper. I baked them at 425 until the cheese was bubbly, about 6 minutes.

Spinach and Pepper Pita Pizzas

That’s it! Talk about simple and tasty. I enjoyed this one so much I made myself a pizza for lunch the next day as well.

TIPS: Since I couldn’t find the mini pitas and had to use regular-sized ones, I could only fit 3 pitas on the baking sheet at a time. If you need to make more than 3 pizzas, a second batch may be in order. Also, I had to shred my own cheese; I’ve never seen packaged shredded Havarti in the grocery store.

Recipe link: Spinach and Pepper Pita Pizzas

0 Responses to “Spinach and Pepper Pita Pizzas”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


