Request Line! Coconut Macaroon Pancakes

I love pancakes AND I love coconut, so I was really excited when my friend Christopher sent me this Coconut Macaroon Pancakes recipe from Heidi at 101cookbooks.com. This recipe was a “happy accident” for Heidi; she was actually making coconut cookies and forgot the sugar, so she turned the batter into pancakes. Christopher suggested I might write about my own happy accidents, except there really aren’t any. (I’m thinking especially of the time I didn’t realize the strength of cayenne pepper and I sprinkled it liberally over what otherwise would have been a delightful brisket.) My accidents are usually just total disasters, but I always dust myself off and try again.

To make the coconut pancakes, I started by heating 1 can (14 ounces) of coconut milk and 2 tablespoons of honey in a small saucepan over medium-low heat. While the mixture heated, I combined my dry ingredients in a medium bowl: 1/4 cup of flour, 3 cups of unsweetened dried shredded coconut, a scant 1/2 teaspoon of salt, and 2 teaspoons of baking powder. I also whisked 3 large eggs in a separate bowl and set them aside.

Once I had my ingredients prepped, I upped the heat on the stove to medium and brought the coconut milk-honey mixture just barely to a simmer. I removed it from the heat and stirred it into the dry ingredients. Once everything was incorporated, I took 1/3 of the coconut batter and whisked it into the eggs. Then, I quickly mixed the eggs back into the rest of the coconut batter, stirring until everything was well combined.

I heated my griddle over medium heat and brushed it with a bit of melted butter. I used a 1/4-cup measuring cup to scoop my batter, 4 pancakes to the griddle. I gave each one a quick circular swirl with the bottom of my measuring cup to flatten the coconut slightly and then sprinkled each pancake with a bit of brown sugar. It took about 60 – 90 seconds for the pancake bottoms to turn golden; I flipped them and cooked them for about another minute. I kept the finished pancakes warm in the oven at 200F while I finished cooking the rest of the batch.

Coconut Macaroon Pancakes

These pancakes were gorgeous – golden brown and fluffy – and the *flavor* was good. Amazingly enough, though, Dr. O and I didn’t like them! There was just too much coconut. Not too much coconut flavor, but too much coconut flake; the texture of every bite was almost as if I had just eaten a spoonful of coconut straight from the bag. (I’m sure someone out there LOVES to eat coconut straight from the bag – these are for you!) I’m glad I tried them, though. Now I just need to figure out how to capture this flavor with about 25% of the coconut flake… Any ideas? 🙂

TIPS: If you do decide to give these a whirl, Heidi says the batter can be prepared the night before. Just give it a good stir in the morning.

Recipe link: Coconut Macaroon Pancakes

1 Response to “Request Line! Coconut Macaroon Pancakes”



  1. 1 Coconut-Apricot Macaroons « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on February 3, 2010 at 10:06 pm

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 566 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


