Spinach-Stuffed Flank Steak

I’m going to get a bit fancy on you today – get ready! I had another Central Market steak coupon this past week, so I combed my recipe spreadsheets for the perfect steak recipe. I settled on Spinach-Stuffed Flank Steak from the May 2007 issue of Everyday Food.

First, I thawed 2 packages (10 ounces each) of frozen leaf spinach. I usually thaw frozen vegetables by running cold water over them in a colander until they’re no longer frozen. Once the spinach had thawed, I took handfuls of it and squeezed out as much water as possible over the sink. (The recipe says to squeeze it in a clean kitchen towel, but spinach stains!)

In a medium bowl, I combined the thawed spinach, 1/4 cup of fresh parsley (chopped), 1/4 cup of grated Asiago cheese, 2 tablespoons of capers (rinsed and drained), 2 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar, 1 minced garlic clove, and 1/4 teaspoon of red pepper flakes. I seasoned the mixture with salt and pepper, tossing to combine.

This is the hard part, though it wasn’t all that bad. I put the steak on a cutting board with the grain running horizontally and butterflied it (which means I cut it almost in half and then opened it like a book). Ideally, I think you end up with a nice rectangle, but my steak wasn’t perfectly square to begin with. One side was slightly thicker than the other, but I did OK.

Once I had the steak butterflied, I cut several 12-inch pieces of kitchen twine and spaced them evenly underneath the opened steak. I spread the spinach mixture down the center of the meat, rolled the steak as tightly as possible, and tied the twine to secure the roll. I cut the roll in half crosswise, put the halves on a foil-lined rimmed baking sheet, rubbed the halves with 1 teaspoon of olive oil, and seasoned with salt and pepper.

Raw Spinach-Stuffed Flank Steak

The recipe said to broil the steak 4 inches from the heat source for 8 to 10 minutes for medium-rare meat; I broiled mine for about 11 1/2 minutes. I removed the meat from the oven, loosely covered it with foil, and let it rest for 10 minutes. Finally, I removed the kitchen twine and cut the meat into 1/2-inch rounds to serve.

Spinach-Stuffed Flank Steak

I liked this one, and “fancy” dinner during the week made Dr. O feel spoiled. I served this with a white bean and tomato saute, so the meal really packed a veggie-ful punch. It was yummy!

TIPS: If you’ve never had flank steak before, it’s a lean, chewy cut of meat. I usually marinate it and serve it thinly sliced, but I thought the spinach filling was a great way to dress it up.

Recipe link: Spinach-Stuffed Flank Steak

1 Response to “Spinach-Stuffed Flank Steak”


  1. 1 matt May 28, 2009 at 5:07 am

    I found your recipe after i created something similar to this. although i used less spinach and added fresh basil instead! I also added whole milk ricotta, Gruyere, and Parmigiano-Reggiano.

    I spread the mixture along the steak and then wrapped it like yours. I then seared it on each side and baked with marinara and a bit of the prosecco salt pepper oliveoil marinade that the meat was resting in for about 10 minutes.


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 568 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


