Mediterranean Chicken Stew

As I mentioned yesterday, my mom came in this past weekend for a quick visit. We hit a few of my favorite local spots (The Porch, Asian Mint, and Breadwinners), but I wanted to cook a few meals at home as well. I made Spaghetti Puttanesca on Friday night before we went to Rain: The Beatles Experience (amazing!). Saturday night, I brought out an old favorite recipe: Mediterranean Chicken Stew from the January/February 2005 issue of Everyday Food.

First, I prepped my ingredients. I cut 1 1/2 pounds of chicken breast into 3/4-inch pieces and then drained and rinsed 1 can (15.5 ounces) of chickpeas. My mom helped out by coring and cutting 4 plum tomatoes into 1/2-inch pieces, chopping 2 tablespoons of pitted Kalamata olives, and chopping 1/4 cup of parsley.

Once the ingredients were ready to go, I seasoned my chicken pieces with 1 teaspoon of salt and 1/4 teaspoon of pepper. I heated 2 teaspoons of olive oil over medium-high heat in a large skillet and added the chicken. I cooked the chicken, turning occasionally, until it was golden and cooked through (about 4 minutes). I put the chicken on a plate, covered it to keep it warm, and set it aside.

I reduced the skillet heat to medium-low and added another teaspoon of olive oil. I cooked 4 minced garlic cloves, stirring constantly, until fragrant (about 30 seconds). I added the chickpeas and 1 cup of water, brought the mixture to a boil, and cooked it until the liquid was reduced by half (about 2 minutes).

Next, I added the prepped tomatoes and cooked them over medium heat until they started to break down (about 4 minutes). I finished out the stew with the prepped olives, 1 teaspoon of white-wine vinegar, the cooked chicken, and the accumulated chicken juices. I tossed the stew until it was heated through (about 1 minute) and then stirred in the chopped parsley. I served this over Creamy Polenta.

Mediterranean Chicken Stew

I really love this one, and it was a hit with my mom. It’s pretty healthy, too (which is especially good when you’re planning on Sprinkles cupcakes for dessert). 🙂

TIPS: If you prefer shrimp to chicken, you can substitute 1 1/2 pounds of peeled and deveined shrimp and use cannellini beans instead of chickpeas. It’s absolutely delicious both ways!

Recipe link: Mediterranean Chicken Stew

0 Responses to “Mediterranean Chicken Stew”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


