Creamy Corn

Side dishes seem to be getting the short end of the stick on my blog so far. It’s pretty rare for me to just grill, bake, or broil some meat and then focus on the extras. I had a Central Market coupon for some free marinated pork tenderloin this past week, though, so I figured it was time to find a yummy side. Creamy Corn from the April 2008 issue of Everyday Food caught my eye… I ate a rather unfortunate amount of canned creamed corn when I was growing up (sorry, Mom!), but I’ve never actually tried to make it. Plus, this recipe looked light years better than the canned stuff.

This one was quick and easy. I combined 1 package (10 ounces) of frozen corn and 1/4 cup of whole milk in a medium saucepan. I simmered the mixture over medium heat until the corn was tender (about 7 minutes), removed it from the heat, and then stirred in 3 ounces of reduced-fat cream cheese (cut into pieces for faster melting) and 2 tablespoons of snipped fresh scallions. I seasoned with salt and pepper and topped the corn with some extra scallions to serve.

Creamy Corn

This was actually really, really good. I haven’t served corn as a side dish in FOREVER, but I’ll definitely be making this one again. It was creamy, cheesy, savory goodness, for sure.

TIPS: This doesn’t make a large quantity of food. If you think about the size of a 10-ounce box of corn, that’s just about what you’ll have at the end. If you’re going to make this for a hungry bunch, you might double the recipe.

The recipe actually calls for chives, but I could only find scallions. They’re *almost* the same thing (chives are much skinnier and I’ve heard they have milder flavor), so either one should work fine.

Recipe link: Creamy Corn

0 Responses to “Creamy Corn”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


