Falafel – The First Attempt

I had a request for falafel (I even used it as an excuse to get myself the food processor I’ve been eyeing for so long!), so I gave Martha Stewart’s Crispy Pan Seared Falafel recipe a shot last night. It was a complete and total disaster. It *tasted* good, but the mixture just wasn’t thick enough to be formed into patties. I was hoping they would firm up a bit in the fridge, but it didn’t happen. My attempt to flip the “patties” in the skillet was the nail in the coffin. On a positive note, the tzatziki sauce that is part of the recipe is *to die for*.

Do any of you know of a great falafel recipe? I’d really like to give this another shot.

Keep sending those requests! šŸ™‚

2 Responses to “Falafel – The First Attempt”


  1. 1 Jennifer May 23, 2008 at 1:17 am

    What the heck is “falafel”?! Sorry to hear about the disaster… is there anything worse?? I think not! (and I’ve had my share of ’em)

  2. 2 jfochek May 23, 2008 at 3:24 am

    Falafel is basically mashed chickpeas or fava beans (depending on the region) with herbs and spices. If my attempt had been successful, I would have formed the mixture into balls, fried them, and used them to make pita sandwiches. We had some really good falafel in downtown Vancouver over Easter… I should have asked for the recipe! šŸ™‚

    This page has a pretty nice picture, if you’re curious about how it looks: http://mideastfood.about.com/od/vegetarianrecipes/ig/Vegetarian-Food-Photo-Gallery/Falafel.–0O.htm


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 566 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


