Honey-Raspberry Gelatins

I love, love, love that summer fruits have started showing in full force at the Dallas Farmers Market, even though it seems like spring just started. Raspberries, strawberries, blackberries, watermelon… Mmmm! I think this may be my favorite time of year for food. I scored some gorgeous raspberries at the market the other day, so I decided to make the Honey-Raspberry Gelatins recipe from the May 2008 issue of Everyday Food.

This one isn’t listed online, so here are the ingredients:

2 envelopes (1/4 ounce each) unflavored gelatin
1 package (10 – 12 ounces) frozen raspberries (not in syrup)
1/2 cup sugar
Salt
1/4 cup honey
1 pint fresh raspberries, for serving

First, I put 1/4 cup of cold water in a small bowl and sprinkled it with the gelatin. I set the gelatin aside to soften for about 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, I combined the frozen raspberries, sugar, 2 cups of water, and a pinch of salt in a large saucepan. I brought the mixture to a boil, reduced it to a simmer, and then cooked it until the berries were broken down (about 5 minutes). I removed the mixture from the heat, added the honey and softened gelatin mixture, and stirred until the gelatin and honey were dissolved (about 2 minutes).

I passed the mixture through a fine-mesh sieve into a large (4 cups, at least) measuring cup and stirred in enough water to yield 4 cups of liquid. (I discarded the solids in the sieve.) I divided the liquid between 6 serving glasses, covered the glasses with plastic wrap, and chilled the gelatins until they were firm (at least 4 hours and up to 5 days). I garnished with the fresh market raspberries to serve.

Honey-Raspberry Gelatins

I think gelatins are such a light, refreshing dessert; I really enjoyed this. I was pleasantly surprised by the strength of the honey flavor, and the fresh raspberries offered a sweet-tart “zing.” This one’s a keeper.

TIPS: Make sure you limit the liquids to exactly what the recipe specifies. If you add too much water, your gelatins may not congeal.

0 Responses to “Honey-Raspberry Gelatins”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


