Baked Shrimp with Tomatoes and Feta

Let’s kick off the week with something extra delicious, at least for any seafood lovers out there. Unfortunately, Dr. O and I weren’t able to participate in any Mother’s Day festivities since our moms are many miles away. I still wanted to make the day feel special, though, so I splurged a bit on some shrimp at Central Market to make Baked Shrimp with Tomatoes and Feta from the May 2006 issue of Everyday Food.

I started by prepping my ingredients. I thinly sliced 4 scallions and 2 garlic cloves, put them in a small bowl, and added 2 teaspoons of dried oregano. I also halved 2 pints of cherry tomatoes and chopped 2 tablespoons of fresh mint.

In a large skillet over medium heat, I heated 2 tablespoons of olive oil. I added the scallions, garlic, and oregano and cooked the mixture until it was fragrant (about 1 minute). Next, I added the halved tomatoes and cooked them, stirring occasionally, for 15 minutes.

After I seasoned the tomato mixture with salt and pepper, I added 1 1/2 pounds of peeled and deveined shrimp (tails removed) and the chopped mint. I stirred the mixture to combine and then transferred it to an 8 x 8-inch baking dish. I sprinkled 4 ounces of crumbled feta cheese over the top of the dish and baked it at 475F until the liquid was bubbling, the cheese was beginning to brown, and the shrimp in the center of the dish were opaque (15 minutes). I served this with Orzo and Green Beans from the May 2006 issue as well.

Baked Shrimp with Tomatoes and Feta

Mmmm, mmmm, mmmm. This was a wonderful late spring dish with great flavor and texture. The shrimp and tomatoes cooked up perfectly, and I really liked the herb and feta combination. The orzo was a simple side dish – just orzo, green beans, olive oil, lemon juice, and salt and pepper – but it was an ideal match for the shrimp. I can’t wait to make this one again.

TIPS: The recipe said to cook the cherry tomatoes until there was no liquid left in the skillet, 10 – 15 minutes. I still had liquid after 15 minutes and there really wasn’t an effective way to drain the skillet without losing some of the seasoning, so I just moved forward. My baked dish was pretty wet but very delicious; I just served the shrimp and tomatoes with a slotted spoon.

Recipe link: Baked Shrimp with Tomatoes and Feta

0 Responses to “Baked Shrimp with Tomatoes and Feta”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 566 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


