Chicken with Paprika Sauce

I recently pulled out a recipe I’ve been meaning to make for *years* – Chicken with Paprika Sauce from the April 2005 issue of Everyday Food. (I think I’ve actually even purchased the ingredients before and never actually got around to making the dish, which rarely happens in my house.) I really like dishes with a bit of sour cream sauce – like stroganoff, yum! – and this one delivers.

I started by cutting 1 1/2 pounds of chicken breast crosswise into 1/2-inch strips. I also cut 4 plum tomatoes into a 1/2-inch dice and set them aside. In a medium bowl, I tossed the chicken with 2 tablespoons of sweet paprika, 1 1/2 teaspoons of salt, and 1/2 teaspoon of pepper. I heated 1 tablespoon of butter in a large skillet over medium high-heat and added the chicken. I cooked it, tossing occasionally, until it was cooked through (about 5 minutes) and then transferred it to a plate.

In the same skillet, I heated a second tablespoon of butter over medium heat and added 1 finely chopped onion. I cooked it, stirring often, until it was softened (about 5 minutes). I added 1 tablespoon of paprika and cooked the mixture, stirring constantly, for 30 seconds.

I added the diced tomatoes and 3/4 cup of water to the skillet and then cooked the mixture until it was saucy (again about 5 minutes). I returned the chicken and accumulated juices to the skillet, stirred in 1/2 cup of sour cream, and cooked until everything was just heated through. I served the chicken with egg noodles tossed with a bit of butter and fresh dill.

Chicken with Paprika Sauce

For something so simple, this was really, really good (and easy!). The dill-butter noodles were a nice complement. I usually make things that are a little more veggie heavy, but the tomatoes count for something, right? 🙂

TIPS: Take care not to let the sauce boil after you’ve added the sour cream – it may separate.

Recipe link: Chicken with Paprika Sauce

0 Responses to “Chicken with Paprika Sauce”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


