Egg-White Omelet with Spinach and Cottage Cheese

I tend to eat a standard meal for breakfast during the work week, but I like to branch out and try new things on the weekend. Since I had this Saturday to myself (a rare occurrence!), I decided to give another “cooking for one” recipe a shot – Egg-White Omelet with Spinach and Cottage Cheese from the January/February issue of Everyday Food. It’s quick (10 – 15 minutes), tasty, and the spinach and cottage cheese pack a great nutritional punch.

This one isn’t listed online, so here are the ingredients:

3 large egg whites
Coarse salt and ground pepper
1 teaspoon olive oil
1 cup packed baby spinach
1/4 cup low-fat (1%) cottage cheese
2 tablespoons grated Parmesan

In a medium bowl, I whisked together the egg whites and 1 tablespoon of water. I seasoned with salt and pepper and set the whites aside.

Next, I heated the olive oil over medium-high heat in a nonstick omelet pan (8″ skillet). I added the spinach, seasoned with salt and pepper, and cooked it until it was wilted and tender (1 minute). I added the egg whites and cooked until they were nearly set, using a flexible heatproof spatula to lift the edges of the omelet to let the uncooked whites run underneath.

Once the eggs were cooked (about 2 minutes), I dolloped the cottage cheese on top of the omelet, sprinkled it with the Parmesan, and seasoned again with salt and pepper. I slid it gently onto a serving plate, folding it over itself by tipping the skillet.

Egg-White Omelet with Spinach and Cottage Cheese

I didn’t do such a great job of evenly distributing my cooked spinach in the skillet, so there’s lots of green on top. Pretty or not, this was really delicious. The cottage cheese tasted almost cream cheese-y… Mmmm. With this much flavor, I didn’t even miss the egg yolks.

TIPS: You have to move pretty quickly when making this omelet, so be sure to have all of your ingredients portioned out, ready, and waiting from the very beginning. Also, this is another one that calls for seasoning with salt and pepper 3 separate times, so season carefully.

5 Responses to “Egg-White Omelet with Spinach and Cottage Cheese”


  1. 1 Diane July 5, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    Thanks for posting this! It’s been one of my favorite weekend breakfasts since it first appeared in Everyday Food. I usually double the recipe to make one big omelet for my husband and I to share – it comes out wonderfully. With the spinach and creamy cheese, we never miss those egg yolks!

  2. 2 Tasty Health Food June 29, 2009 at 9:55 am

    I found this on Google while looking for an egg white omelet recipe. Just made this and it was delicious!

  3. 3 Sara April 14, 2010 at 1:56 am

    Hi! Thank you so much for this recipe!! I just read it and made it this morning. I posted it to my blog if you are interested. 🙂

  4. 4 Carol November 6, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    Just what I was looking for to see if the cottage cheese would go well with the egg whites. Added fresh dill and scallions to the spinach for a kinda-like-spanokopita taste. Thank you!

  5. 5 Lauren January 18, 2012 at 7:19 pm

    I don’t like eggs and have been trying to get more protein in my diet so I made this recipe. I really enjoyed it. My husband loved it a lot and I substituted feta for the cottage cheese in his.


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


