Prosciutto-Wrapped Pork Chops

We have a little inside joke about pork chops at my house. A couple of years ago, whenever I would ask Dr. O what he wanted for dinner, he would always (always!) suggest pork chops. It was like a reflex. First, I moved to “What would you like for dinner – except pork chops?” and then I stopped asking altogether when I realized he’d eat just about anything I put on the table. Another funny side effect of all this, though, is that I almost stopped making pork chops entirely. (I think it was my rebellious streak, hehe.)

Anyway, Dr. O came home from his trip yesterday, so I wanted to make something special for dinner. I was scanning my main meals spreadsheet, and the Prosciutto-Wrapped Pork Chops recipe from the June 2006 issue of Everyday Food caught my eye. What better way to welcome Dr. O home than with a new take on an old favorite?

This is another quick and easy recipe, but the results are unbelievable. First, I chopped 2 tablespoons of fresh thyme leaves. I seasoned 4 boneless pork loin chops (about 1/2 inch thick) with salt and pepper and then pressed the chopped thyme into the meat. I wrapped each pork chop with thinly sliced prosciutto, pressing the ends to seal.

In a large nonstick skillet, I heated 2 teaspoons of olive oil over medium high heat. I cooked the chops until golden brown and cooked through (5 minutes per side).

Prosciutto-Wrapped Pork Chops

These were INCREDIBLE – probably the best pork chops I’ve made, ever – and it rarely gets easier than this. The prosciutto helped seal in moisture, so the pork chops were incredibly juicy. The fresh thyme really enhanced the flavor of the meat as well. This dish is fast enough for a weeknight, but I think the appearance and flavor make this appropriate for company as well. Bold green, all the way!

TIPS: The recipe said to use pork chops that were 5 – 6 ounces each; mine were about 4 ounces. You’ll probably need an extra minute or two of cooking time if you go with bigger chops.  You may also need to cook bigger chops in two batches, depending on the size of your skillet.

The recipe also said to wrap a single piece of prosciutto around the pork chop like a belt. My deli guy started a new hunk of prosciutto for me, though, and the end pieces were smaller than usual. I ended up using two pieces per chop. As I’ve mentioned before, good prosciutto is essential. (I go with prosciutto di Parma.) The per pound cost can be a bit shocking, but the small quantity required for this recipe has a huge impact on the flavor.

Recipe link: Prosciutto-Wrapped Pork Chops

2 Responses to “Prosciutto-Wrapped Pork Chops”


  1. 1 Kari June 10, 2008 at 4:38 am

    These look beautiful!! It might just be the perfect meal to break in my new kitchen!! YUM!! 🙂 Well, we’ll be headed back to Dallas tomorrow……I’m sooo looking forward to seeing your beautiful face at the hockey game!! Miss you tons!! 🙂


  1. 1 Quick and Easy Valentine’s Day Recipes « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on February 10, 2010 at 8:09 am

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 568 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


