Grilled Tilapia with Cherry Salsa

The June 2008 issue of Everyday Food has several *gorgeous* recipes that incorporate Bing cherries. Bing cherries are a little pricey at Central Market right now, but I just had to try the Grilled Tilapia with Cherry Salsa recipe. It’s quick and easy enough for a weeknight but elegant enough for company… It doesn’t get much better than that!

This one isn’t posted online, so here are the ingredients:

1 tablespoon olive oil, plus more for grill
1/2 pound (2 cups) Bing cherries, pitted and coarsely chopped
1/2 small red onion, finely chopped
1/4 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
1 jalapeno chile (ribs and seeds removed), minced (I omitted this ingredient)
1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
Coarse salt and ground pepper
1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
4 tilapia fillets (4 – 6 ounces each)

I started off by making the salsa. In a medium bowl, I combined the cherries, onion, cilantro, and lime juice. (Include the jalapeno as well, if you decide to use it.) I seasoned the salsa with salt and pepper, tossed it to combine, and set it aside.

In a small bowl, I stirred together the coriander, 1 teaspoon of salt, and 1/4 teaspoon of pepper. I rubbed the tilapia fillets all over with the olive oil and then sprinkled them with the spice mixture.

I heated my grill pan over high heat, drizzled it with olive oil, and added the tilapia fillets. (My fillets were a bit big, so I could only fit 3 in the pan. I grilled the last one on its own.) Once the tilapia was opaque around the edges (2 – 3 minutes), I flipped it with a thin spatula and cooked it 2 more minutes. I topped the tilapia with the cherry salsa to serve.

Grilled Tilapia with Cherry Salsa

Mmmm, mmmm, mmmm. This was GOOD. It was so light and summery, and I loved the flavors of the salsa. The cilantro really balanced out the sweetness of the cherries, so this really didn’t have a “fruit on fish” taste to me. I served the tilapia with black beans and cilantro-lime rice… It was a terrific meal, for sure.

TIPS: I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned this before, but I wanted to make a little note about salt. When I’m cooking, I always use coarse (kosher) salt, unless the recipe specifies otherwise. When I’m baking, I always use table salt. I think dishes tend to turn out a bit too salty if you use table salt when cooking instead of coarse salt. Morton’s Coarse Kosher Salt is readily available in most grocery stores right next to the table salt.

1 Response to “Grilled Tilapia with Cherry Salsa”


  1. 1 Jennifer June 26, 2008 at 8:51 am

    Look @ those grill marks! This dish looks impressive – can’t wait to try it!


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


