Dill Feta Scramble

I was looking through some breakfast recipes earlier this week when it occurred to me that I had all the ingredients for the Dill Feta Scramble recipe from the September 2007 issue of Everyday Food just sitting around – no planning necessary. It was fate! I enjoyed the one I made for myself on Thursday so much that I actually got out of bed early – cheerfully, even – and made one for Dr. O yesterday.

The scramble is super quick and easy, so it makes an ideal breakfast any day of the week. I cooked for one person each time, so double the ingredients for two or quadruple them for four.

In a medium bowl, I whisked together 1 large egg and 2 large egg whites. I seasoned with salt and pepper and then whisked in 2 tablespoons of crumbled feta cheese. I also chopped 1 tablespoon of fresh dill and set it aside.

I sprayed a small nonstick skillet with cooking spray and heated it over medium-low heat. (The cooking spray was a substitution; the original recipe calls for 1 teaspoon of olive oil.) I cooked the eggs, scraping the bottom of the pan frequently with a flexible heatproof spatula, until they were set. I added the dill and stirred the eggs to incorporate it.

I spooned the eggs into half of a whole-wheat pita and garnished with dill to serve.

Dill Feta Scramble

This was so tasty! It’s like a breakfast burrito with a Greek twist. Having all of the ingredients on hand was a fortuitous situation, but I enjoyed the scramble so much I’ll probably plan for it next time. I tend to make the same thing for breakfast every morning (during the week, at least)… This was a fantastic – and fast! – break from the norm.

TIPS: The recipe says to scramble the eggs for 1 – 2 minutes to set them. I prefer to have my eggs more dry than wet, though, so I scrambled them for about 3 minutes before adding the dill. If you already cook scrambled eggs regularly, just cook them how you like them.

Recipe link: Dill Feta Scramble

0 Responses to “Dill Feta Scramble”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


