Lighter Chicken Salad

Let’s continue the buttermilk party, shall we? Yesterday’s buttermilk custards came about because I had to purchase way more buttermilk than I needed to make Lighter Chicken Salad from the June 2008 issue of Everyday Food. There’s a “healthy” chain here in Dallas (Zoe’s Kitchen) that has pretty awesome chicken salad, so I thought I’d see if Everyday Food‘s lightened recipe came close.

First, I poached 1 1/2 pounds of chicken breast. In a large skillet with a tight-fitting lid, I brought 1 inch of salted water to a boil. I added the chicken, covered the skillet, and reduced the heat to medium-low. I simmered the chicken for 5 minutes, removed it from the heat, and let it steam (still covered) until it was cooked through (14 minutes). I removed it from the skillet, cooled it, and then used two forks to shred it.

In a medium bowl, I stirred together 1/4 cup of light mayonnaise, 1/4 cup of low-fat buttermilk, 1 tablespoon of Dijon mustard, 1 tablespoon of fresh lemon juice, and 1/2 teaspoon of hot sauce. I stirred in the shredded chicken, along with 2 celery stalks (finely chopped), 1/2 small red onion (finely chopped), and 1/4 cup fresh parsley (chopped). I seasoned with salt and pepper to finish.

Lighter Chicken Salad

It’s not Zoe’s, but it’s pretty good. Since it’s light, it’s not super creamy, but it has good flavor. I did have to season with salt 3 times to get the results I wanted, but it’s always better to go easy and add more salt later. (There are few things worse than too-salty food!)

The recipe makes 6 smallish servings and keeps in the refrigerator for 3 days, so it’s great to have around for lunches or dinners during the week.

Recipe link: Lighter Chicken Salad

1 Response to “Lighter Chicken Salad”


  1. 1 Kari July 3, 2008 at 12:25 am

    oohhhh, yay!!!! I can’t wait to try this one!!!! 🙂

    I did try the prosciutto wrapped pork chops….y-u-m-m-y!! Jason loved them. It’s just another fabulous Jenny recipe that’s going in my collection….keep ’em coming!! 🙂

    I love and miss you soooo much. I’ll give you a call later so we can catch up!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 566 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


