Request Line! Marshmallow Fruit Dip

When I was back home a couple of weeks ago, my mom asked me to find a good fruit dip recipe. (Thanks for the request, Mom!) I started combing my favorite recipe sites and saw that many of them had the same basic ingredients – like cream cheese, sour cream, sugar, and vanilla – with differing quantities. Some had “special” ingredients, like orange juice concentrate, ginger, or maraschino cherry juice. Some even had mayonnaise or butter, which aren’t ingredients I would typically want to put on my fruit.

I ended up choosing a recipe from a site that offered a basic recipe with four variations – almond, raspberry, lemon, and marshmallow. The marshmallow recipe sounded especially delish, so I decided to give it a whirl.

This was so, so easy and it only took about 5 minutes. I used reduced-fat ingredients to lighten up the dip a bit, but you can use regular ones if you want. (I wouldn’t go with fat-free sour cream or cream cheese, though. I think fat-free dairy usually lacks in texture and flavor.)

In the bowl of my mixer, I combined 1 8-ounce package of reduced-fat (neufchatel) cream cheese, 1 cup of reduced-fat sour cream, 3 tablespoons of sugar, 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract, and 1/2 cup of marshmallow creme. I beat the mixture on medium speed for about 30 seconds, scraped down the sides of the bowl, and then beat it again until smooth (about another 30 seconds). I let it chill in the refrigerator for an hour so the flavors could blend, and then served it in a hollowed orange. Pretty, huh?

Marshmallow Fruit Dip

This dip had great texture and flavor. I could really taste the vanilla and cream cheese, and the sour cream made it slightly tangy. If you don’t like cream cheese frosting, this probably isn’t up your alley, but if you do, watch out. 🙂 I can see this as a yummy addition to a shower or picnic menu as part of a fruit plate.

TIPS: Bring the cream cheese to room temperature before making the dip for best results. If you don’t have time, just soften it in the microwave.

Also, I have to say I enjoyed this best with apple slices.  Dr. O liked it with strawberries, but I think super sweet fruit might overpower the flavor of the dip.

Recipe link: Marshmallow Fruit Dip

0 Responses to “Request Line! Marshmallow Fruit Dip”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 566 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


