Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast

Oatmeal is one of my very favorite breakfast foods. (It’s a favorite baking ingredient as well!) It’s hearty, and there are about a million different things you can do with it. I usually prefer the flavor and texture of old-fashioned oats, but quick oats tend to work a bit better during the week. Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast from the May/June 2003 issue of Everyday Food is an old quick oats favorite. I was a bit hesitant about putting sour cream on my oatmeal the first time I tried the recipe, but it’s absolutely delish!

First, I rinsed, hulled, and thinly sliced 1 pint of strawberries. I tossed the berries with 2 tablespoons of firmly-packed dark brown sugar (to bring out the juices) and set them aside.

Next, I made the oats. In a medium saucepan over medium heat, I warmed 1 3/4 cups of water, 1 3/4 cups milk, and 1/4 teaspoon salt. When bubbles started to form in the liquid, I added 2 cups of quick oats and cooked, stirring occasionally, until they were thick and creamy (5 minutes).

To serve, I dished the oatmeal into bowls and topped each serving with 1 tablespoon of sour cream, some of the strawberries, and a sprinkle of brown sugar.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast

This is seriously so yummy. Like I said before, I initially thought the sour cream thing was weird, but the brown sugar really sweetens things up. The quick oats really cut down on total cooking time (this takes about 10 – 15 minutes from start to finish), so it’s perfect for any day of the week.

TIPS: If you don’t have dark-brown sugar, regular brown sugar will work just fine. I usually have both in my pantry.

Recipe link: Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast

1 Response to “Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast”


  1. 1 Jennifer D July 20, 2008 at 9:40 am

    I have oatmeal nearly 5 days a week for breakfast b/c I love it SO much. If it’s possible, I love it even more now! I didn’t even do the fancy dallop of sour cream and water/milk mixture for the oatmeal (I always spalsh milk over my oatmeal-cooked-with-water after it’s done cooking b/c I don’t like it thick). It was the strawberries and brown sugar macerating that won me over. It’s like a yummy, cozy dessert minus the over the top sweetness. Mmmm…


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


