Twice-Baked Potatoes

I rarely get a chance to post great side dishes, so today is a special day! It seems like every time Dr. O’s family gets together at his grandma’s house, she makes twice-baked potatoes as part of the meal. They’re always *so* good… I don’t usually go for second helpings, but those potatoes are hard to resist. I had never actually tried to make twice-baked potatoes, though, until last night. The recipe from the October 2003 issue of Everyday Food might not have much family history (yet!), but the results were pretty tasty.

The potatoes only require about 10 minutes of hands-on time, but they take 2 hours from start to finish with baking and cooling included. If you have the time, they’re totally worth it.

First, I scrubbed 2 large russet potatoes and pricked them all over with a fork. I baked them in a 375F oven (directly on the oven rack) until tender (90 minutes).

After 10 minutes of cooling time, I split each potato in half lengthwise. I scooped the potato flesh into a medium bowl, leaving a thin shell. Next, I added 4 tablespoons of milk, 2 tablespoons of softened unsalted butter, 2 tablespoons of reduced-fat sour cream, and 1/4 cup of grated white cheddar cheese to the bowl. I seasoned the mixture with salt and pepper and folded in 1 tablespoon of freshly chopped chives.

I filled each potato shell with the potato mixture, transferred the potatoes to a baking dish just large enough to hold them, and sprinkled them with another 1/4 cup of grated white cheddar. I baked them at 375F for 20 minutes and garnished with more chives to serve.

These aren’t “grandma potatoes,” but they sure taste good. The cheese topping forms a light crust, and the potato filling is creamy and so, so yummy. I think adults *and* children would just love these… I’m planning on putting them into permanent rotation.

TIPS: If you just don’t have the time to bake the potatoes for 90 minutes, you can cook them in the microwave on high for 9 minutes and then bake them in a 375F oven for 20 minutes.

Also, I left my potato mixture slightly chunky before I spooned it back into the shells, which I thought was delicious. If you want super smooth potatoes, go ahead and mash them before you fill the shells.

Recipe link: Twice-Baked Potatoes

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


