Rolled Chicken Sandwich with Arugula and Parsley Aioli

My Giada de Laurentiis crush continues! Dr. O and I had an extra busy weeknight recently, so I planned a super quick and easy meal – Rolled Chicken Sandwiches with Arugula and Parsley Aioli from Giada’s show Everyday Italian. She made it for a “working lunch,” but it fit my “hurried dinner” bill perfectly.

To make the aioli, I combined a laundry list of ingredients in my Cuisinart Mini Prep food processor: 1/2 cup of lightly packed baby arugula, 1/2 cup of lightly packed fresh flat-leaf parsley, 1 anchovy fillet (I substituted a dab of anchovy paste instead), 2 teaspoons of chopped fresh chives, 1 small garlic clove (coarsely chopped), 1/4 cup of mayonnaise (I used reduced-fat), 1/2 cup of plain low-fat yogurt, 1 teaspoon of white-wine vinegar, and 1 teaspoon of lemon zest. I blended the mixture in the food processor until it was smooth, transferred it to a bowl, and seasoned with salt and pepper to taste.

To make the sandwiches, I added 2 cups of shredded cooked chicken to the aioli and mixed well. The original recipe says to warm 8-inch tortillas for the “bread,” but I used La Tortilla Factory Whole-Wheat Soft Wraps. (They were already really soft, so they didn’t need to be warm to be supple.) I spread each wrap with a quarter of the chicken mixture, leaving a 1/2-inch border around the edge. I sprinkled 1/3 cup of arugula (1 1/3 cups total) over the chicken, tightly rolled the sandwiches, and cut each one in half on the diagonal.

These sandwiches are so yummy! The aioli reminded me of Green Goddess dressing, and I love the slightly peppery taste of arugula. Mmmm. With only 10 minutes from start to finish, this was a perfectly quick and easy meal. The sandwiches are really portable, too – I made an extra for Dr. O the next morning and wrapped it in wax paper for his lunch – which makes them perfect for picnics or parties.

TIPS: Admittedly, this is only a quick recipe if you already have cooked chicken on hand. You could easily cook the chicken the night before to have it ready to go. My favorite methods are poaching (boiling, basically) and roasting. If you want it really easy, pick up a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store and shred that meat instead.

Recipe link: Rolled Chicken Sandwich with Arugula and Parsley Aioli

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 568 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


