Spaghetti with Chicken and Peppers

Spaghetti with Chicken and Peppers from the June 2004 issue of Everyday Food is another one of those recipes where I’ve been intending to make it for months – if not years, sadly – but it never seemed to make it onto the grocery list. I was looking for something quick and easy to make for dinner last week and I already had most of the ingredients on hand, so it finally had its day.

The recipe requires a bit of veggie prep, so I took care of that first. I thinly sliced 2 yellow bell peppers and chopped 1/2 cup of fresh cilantro. I also juiced 2 limes to yield 1/4 cup of juice.

Once I had my veggies prepped, I cooked 1 pound of whole-wheat spaghetti according to package directions. Meanwhile, I combined 1 1/2 cups of reduced-sodium chicken broth, 3 minced garlic cloves, and 1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes in a medium saucepan over medium heat. I brought the mixture to a simmer and cooked until the garlic was tender (2 minutes). I transferred the broth mixture to a large bowl and added the lime juice, 3 tablespoons of ketchup, 2 tablespoons of soy sauce, and 2 teaspoons of sugar.

When the pasta had finished cooking, I added it to the broth mixture in the bowl along with the sliced bell pepper, the chopped cilantro, and 2 cups of shredded cooked chicken breast. I seasoned with salt to taste and tossed everything to combine it with the sauce.

This dish wasn’t exactly amazing, but it’s fine for a weeknight. (I think I’m a bit biased because I keep comparing it to the Thai Chicken and Noodle Salad, which was exceptional.) This could be a good one for the “kitchen challenged” – if you can cook pasta and boil broth, this one’s for you. 🙂

I’ve had a few bombs lately (Linguine with Artichokes, Tomatoes, and Parsley from May 2008 and Asian Noodle Salad from September 2004), so I’m hoping things will turn around soon. Send me your good kitchen mojo!

TIPS: I actually made this the night after I made the Rolled Chicken Sandwiches with Arugula and Parsley Aioli. I cooked extra chicken when I made the chicken sandwiches, so I just had shredded meat on hand for this recipe. It was pretty handy!

Recipe link: Spaghetti with Chicken and Peppers

0 Responses to “Spaghetti with Chicken and Peppers”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


