Raisin-and-Bread-Stuffed Pork Chops

I think my kitchen mojo may have returned… We have another weeknight winner!

Dr. O and I have a move on the horizon, so I’ve started trying to base my weekly menus around pantry items I’d rather use than move or throw away. I resisted the urge to make something sweet with raisins (don’t oatmeal-raisin bars sound wonderful?) and instead decided on something savory – Raisin-and-Bread-Stuffed Pork Chops from the April 2007 issue of Everyday Food. I had a loaf of whole-wheat bread on hand (we’re pretty lousy at finishing an entire loaf), so this was a good opportunity to cook with bread as well.

To make the stuffing, I combined 4 slices of whole-wheat sandwich bread (cubed), 1/4 cup of raisins, 1/4 cup of fresh chopped parsley, 2 tablespoons of melted butter, and 1 tablespoon of water in a medium bowl. I seasoned with salt and pepper and tossed the stuffing ingredients to combine.

Next, I laid 4 pork chops (each about 6 ounces and 3/4 inch thick) on a rimmed baking sheet lined with aluminum foil. I used a paring knife to cut a deep pocket in each one (make sure you don’t cut all the way through!) and then filled the pork chops with stuffing. I pressed down on each one gently to flatten it a bit, seasoned with salt and pepper, and then sprinkled 1 tablespoon of light-brown sugar over the chops.

I broiled the pork chops (without turning) until the meat was slightly browned and opaque throughout (8 minutes). While the pork chops broiled, I threw together a half recipe of Parmesan Green Beans. I boiled 1 package (10 ounces) of frozen French-cut green beans until they were tender (5 minutes, according to package directions). I drained them and added 1 tablespoon of butter, 1/2 tablespoon of fresh lemon juice, and 1/2 tablespoon of grated Parmesan cheese. I seasoned with salt and pepper, sprinkled the beans with another 1/2 tablespoon of Parmesan, and served them alongside the pork chops.

This was so yummy! It was an unusual combination, but it really worked well. (To quote Dr. O: “I never would have thought of this, but I like it.”) I guess I expected it to be a bit sweet from the brown sugar, but there was just enough to give the meat a bit of caramelization. The only hint of sweetness came from the raisins, and even that was slight. This was super quick (25 minutes), easy, and delicious – I look forward to making it again.

TIPS: This is a simple recipe, so you’ll want to be sure to use quality ingredients for the best flavor. I *love* Oroweat bread, and we could really taste it in the pork chop stuffing. I’m not sure if it would have been quite the same with Kroger’s $1.00 wheat bread. Make sure you get good pork chops, too!

Recipe link: Raisin-and-Bread-Stuffed Pork Chops and Parmesan Green Beans

2 Responses to “Raisin-and-Bread-Stuffed Pork Chops”


  1. 1 Kari July 28, 2008 at 2:26 am

    Jenny!! You were on my mind ALL DAY yesterday, because I prepared an entire meal by using only your recipes!! We had one of Jason’s classmates and her husband over, and I thought it only appropriate to introduce them to a delicious “Focheck inspired” menu!! The meal included the strawberry spinach salad, vodka penne pasta, chicken alfredo lasagna, and of course Jason was begging to have the chocolate caramel oatmeal chews for dessert!! It was muy delicioso!! The only thing it lacked was not having you there!! It only made me miss you more…..we have got to catch up soon!! Loving you 🙂


  1. 1 Quick and Easy Valentine’s Day Recipes « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on February 10, 2010 at 8:10 am

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


