Sweet Sundays: Raspberry Turnovers

Lucky, lucky Dr. O. I woke up – inexplicably – at 7:15 a.m. yesterday and couldn’t get back to sleep. It was likely to be several hours before he joined me downstairs, so that gave me plenty of time to try out a recipe I had been eyeballing – Raspberry Turnovers from the June 2005 issue of Everyday Food.

This recipe is really easy, and it makes good use of convenience ingredients (puff pastry). It takes forever, though. If you’re an early bird, no problem. Otherwise, I think you could make these the night before, cool them, and store them in an airtight container until the next morning.

The first time-consuming step was allowing the puff pastry to thaw for 40 minutes at room temperature. Once the pastry had thawed, I unfolded it and rolled it out into a 12-inch square. Thankfully, Pepperidge Farm puff pastry folds out into a square anyway (I think it was about 9 x 9 inches), so I just had to extend it a bit with my rolling pin. Once I had a satisfactorily enlarged square (don’t even think that my edges were perfect!), I used a sharp knife to cut it into 4 equal squares. I placed the puff pastry squares on a parchment-lined baking sheet and refrigerated the dough for 15 minutes.

While the dough chilled, I stirred together 3/4 cup of fresh raspberries and 1/4 cup of seedless raspberry jam. I removed the dough from the refrigerator and spooned the raspberry/jam mixture equally into the center of each square. Using a pastry brush, I dampened the edges of the dough with water, folded the dough in half diagonally (over the filling), and then used a fork to crimp and seal the edges. I brushed the tops of the turnovers with water and sprinkled each one with 1/2 teaspoon of sugar. Finally, I used a paring knife to cut 3 steam vents in each one.

I put the turnovers back into the refrigerator for 30 minutes to firm up. (Don’t you love that there’s been about 10 minutes of hands-on time and 85 minutes of chill time so far?) When the chill time had passed, I baked them at 375F until they were puffed and golden (22 minutes). I cooled the turnovers (still on the baking sheet) on a wire rack and served them slightly warm.

I can’t pretend this was a healthy breakfast, but these turnovers sure were delicious. Puff pastry is pretty consistently tasty, but it’s amazing how good a turnover can be when you fill it with fresh fruit instead of canned pie filling. (Grocery store turnover, anyone?) These sure felt like a special treat… They were definitely worth the time and (minimal) effort.

TIPS: If you can’t find seedless raspberry jam or you don’t want to buy it, pretty much any jam will do. I would recommend strawberry, cherry, or plum.

Recipe link: Raspberry Turnovers

1 Response to “Sweet Sundays: Raspberry Turnovers”


  1. 1 sarah June 9, 2013 at 2:01 am

    These sound lovely, and your photos are marvelous. Headed into the kitchen now to get started.


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 568 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


