How to Slice an Onion Without Crying

Onions and I are NOT friends.  I love to cook with them, but I am seriously one of those people who ends up with a mascara-streaked face within about 15 seconds of cutting one open.  And boy, do my eyes burn!  I’ve tried “onion goggles” and they help some, but I still tear up every time.

My mom caught me on the phone this evening *just* before I was about to slice an onion for dinner.  She told me to light a candle first.  I lit a tea light and placed it right next to my cutting board.  Amazingly enough, it worked!  I didn’t tear up at all.  I guess the flame is supposed to burn up the onion fumes or something…  Who knows.  What I *do* know is that I’ll never cut an onion without a candle nearby ever again!

1 Response to “How to Slice an Onion Without Crying”


  1. 1 leslieann August 20, 2008 at 7:52 am

    So it works even better than wearing sunglasses inside, huh? If I had a copy, I could post a most-fantastic picture of you donning that defense, circa Tequila Party 2006. 🙂

    I wish I would have checked for blog up dates before I chopped an onion tonight!


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


