Watermelon Salad with Rum and Mint

Mojito lovers, meet your new favorite fruit salad – Watermelon Salad with Rum and Mint from the July/August 2007 issue of Everyday Food. I can’t believe how accurately it mimics the flavor of a mojito… It’s incredible! Dr. O and I just couldn’t get enough.

First, I made the “marinade.” In a large bowl, I whisked together 2 tablespoons of fresh lime juice, 2 tablespoons of light brown sugar, 2 tablespoons of light rum (Bacardi), and 1/4 teaspoon of salt.

Next, I used a melon baller to scoop the flesh from half of a seedless watermelon. (The recipe says to use a 6-pound piece of watermelon. I honestly have no idea how much my half weighed.) If you’d rather not use the melon baller, just cutting the melon into pieces would work fine. I let my scooped melon rest in a colander as I worked even though the recipe didn’t say to do this; I just didn’t want the salad to be *too* watery.

When I had the entire melon half scooped, I transferred the melon from the colander to the bowl with the “marinade.” I sprinkled the fruit with 2 tablespoons of slivered mint leaves and 1/2 teaspoon of finely grated lime zest and tossed everything gently to combine. I served it immediately in my scooped-out watermelon shell.

I honestly think this is my new favorite fruit salad. (Sorry, Tropical Fruit Salad!) It’s *perfect* for summer, and it really does taste just like a mojito. I plan to make this one again and again!

TIPS: The recipe suggests making this no more than 2 hours ahead. If you want to store your leftovers overnight, though, you can – I would just recommend draining off any excess liquid. Watermelon tends to break down and get mushy if it sits in liquid for an extended period of time. It seems sad to discard the “juice” since it’s so tasty, but the watermelon will have absorbed some of the lime, rum, and mint flavor. That way, you can still enjoy it – without the mush! – the next day.

Recipe link: Watermelon Salad with Rum and Mint

1 Response to “Watermelon Salad with Rum and Mint”



  1. 1 Watermelon Mojito Salad - Fast Salad Recipes Trackback on October 28, 2013 at 12:29 am

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 568 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


