Sweet Sundays: Raspberry-Yogurt Ice Pops

Last summer, I was a popsicle-making fool. I found a cute set of popsicle molds at Crate & Barrel and basically went crazy. Strawberry pops, pineapple pops, watermelon pops… You name it, I froze it. This summer has been considerably more chaotic, so my popsicle molds sat empty – until a few days ago. I wanted to make myself a cool, creamy treat when Dr. O was out of town, so I decided to give Raspberry-Yogurt Ice Pops from the September 2007 issue of Everyday Food a try.

This one isn’t online, so here’s what you’ll need:

2 cups plain low-fat yogurt
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup frozen raspberries (about 3 ounces)

In a medium bowl, I whisked together the yogurt and sugar. I put 1 cup of the yogurt-sugar mixture in my blender, added the frozen raspberries, and pureed until the ingredients were well blended. (I set the rest of the yogurt-sugar mixture aside.) I pressed the raspberry mixture through a fine-mesh sieve into a separate medium bowl.

Dividing evenly, I layered the yogurt-sugar mixture and the raspberry mixture in six 3-ounce popsicle molds. I inserted the mold sticks and froze the popsicles until they were solid (5 hours). To unmold them, I ran warm water around the outside of the molds for about 15 seconds and wiggled the sticks until the popsicles released.

Strawberry pops are still my favorite, but these were delish *and* cute. They’re definitely for yogurt lovers… The pops are tangy, slightly tart, and very creamy. Next time, I may use low-fat vanilla yogurt or add 1/4 – 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract to the yogurt-sugar mixture. A hint of vanilla would take these to the next level!

TIPS: The layering part of the recipe is much easier if you can put the two mixtures into liquid measuring cups or other containers with spouts.

1 Response to “Sweet Sundays: Raspberry-Yogurt Ice Pops”



  1. 1 12 pretty in pink popsicle recipes Trackback on April 17, 2014 at 5:15 am

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 568 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


