Update: Lemon-Horseradish Fish Cakes

We are absolutely CRAZY this week – work is winding down and we only have a few days left before the big trip. These days are what “cook half, freeze half” meals are made for, so I decided to dig the other half of the Lemon-Horseradish Fish Cakes out of the freezer.

I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised! Unfortunately, most dishes that are tossed in the freezer end up as mere shadows of the original preparation. The cracker crust was slightly less crisp (fresh crackers vs. frozen, I’m sure) and the horseradish flavor had a bit less zing. The fish cakes still had great texture and flavor, though, and they beat any other frozen fish recipe I’ve tasted by a mile.

In my original post, I mentioned that I would set my burner temperature squarely between medium and medium-high the next time I made these fish cakes. I did, and they were browned and cooked through perfectly with 5 minutes on each side.

I was able to put together an absolutely delicious meal of fish cakes, steamed peas (Birds Eye steamer bags are the best!), and take-and-bake bread in about 15 minutes. In a crunch, it doesn’t get any better than that!

p.s. We move into the full-fledged crazy phase of our fall transition this weekend. Over the next several weeks, I plan to post some recipes that I’ve cooked recently, along with an Australia update here and there. (Bill Granger has a restaurant in Sydney I want to try, and haven’t you always wondered what kangaroo steak tastes like? 🙂 ) I’ll be in my new kitchen in late September, ready to whip up all kinds of Halloween goodies. Please stay tuned!

0 Responses to “Update: Lemon-Horseradish Fish Cakes”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


