Yogurt with Apple and Almonds

I love, love, love to make breakfast on Saturday mornings, but our schedule has been pretty hectic during the past couple of weekends. Yogurt with Apple and Almonds from the December 2007 issue of Everyday Food *feels* special, but it only takes about 15 minutes to toss together (5 if you don’t toast the almonds, though I highly recommend it).

This recipe isn’t online, so here’s what you’ll need for 2 servings:

1 Granny Smith apple, coarsely grated (I actually used a Braeburn apple)
1 1/2 cups plain low-fat yogurt
1/4 cup raisins
2 tablespoons honey
1/4 cup sliced almonds (toasted, if desired)

I like my almonds toasted, so that was my first step. I spread the almonds in a single layer on a rimmed baking sheet and toasted them in a 350F oven for about 5 minutes. I set them aside to cool.

Next, I grated the apple with a box grater. (I didn’t peel it first.) To remove some of the moisture, I pressed the grated apple between paper towels before placing it in a medium bowl. I added the yogurt, raisins, and honey and stirred everything together to combine. I divided the mixture between two bowls and sprinkled each with half of the almonds.

Mmm, mmm, mmm. Besides great flavor, I really love this dish for its texture. The yogurt is creamy, the raisins are chewy, the apples thicken the mixture, and the almonds add terrific crunch. Plus, it’s easy *and* healthy. Yum!

TIPS: It’s absolutely essential to press the grated apple between paper towels to drain it before putting the ingredients together. Grated apple is very wet. I didn’t drain mine the first time I attempted this recipe (the recipe didn’t say anything about doing it), and all the moisture from the apples really loosened the yogurt. The difference in flavor and texture the second time around was amazing!

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


