Greetings from Sydney!

Hello, everyone!  I just wanted to post a little “foodie update” from Sydney.  We had an absolutely amazing meal last night at a place called Redoak Boutique Beer Cafe.  (I’ll admit the name made me giggle a bit because I just don’t see any of my beer-loving friends and relatives seeking out any “boutique” beer.  Microbreweries?  Yes.  Boutiques?  Not so much.  Anyway…)

We walked and walked and walked and walked and *finally* found it.  Our original intention was to enjoy the lighter (and less expensive) bar menu, but the bar area was packed.  We settled into the dining room with an amber ale (Dr. O) and a framboise froment (me) and gave the regular menu a look.  We passed over the appetizers (called “entrees” here, which is initially a bit confusing) for the entrees (called “mains” here) in anticipation of dessert.  I settled on some tagliatelle with clams and sausage; Dr. O chose a lemon chicken breast with risotto.  The food was INCREDIBLE.  Hoping to end the meal on a high note, we ordered two (!) desserts.  (We *always* share.)  Here’s the kicker…  The sticky date pudding actually managed to unseat Upstream’s bread pudding as THE best bread pudding in the world.  (In my world, at least!)  It went beyond all expectations.

The meal has been our best in Sydney so far, and one of the better meals we’ve had ever.  We’ll see if any of our other Australia destinations can offer some competition.

Other high points…  I had an amazing “Warm Winter Berries” crepe near Manly Beach at a place called Inside Out.  (It was gluten free AND amazing – I thought of you, Leslie!)  We’re also loving the gelato at Gelatomassi near our B & B.  They have gelato-filled cannoli, otherwise known as “heaven.”  Tomorrow, we’re taking a wine tour in the Hunter Valley…  Hopefully, the food will be fantastic, though I won’t mind if we can’t remember it entirely. 🙂

I’ll post again soon!

2 Responses to “Greetings from Sydney!”


  1. 1 Kari September 5, 2008 at 4:33 am

    Jenny!! I don’t know which I love more….the fact that you’re updating the blog from Sydney (!)…..or that I have a new reason to visit Sidney one day…the bread pudding!! Yum!! I’m looking forward to hearing how the wine tour goes!! Even if you have to do a little creative writing to fill in the moments you can’t recall 🙂

    Wishing y’all safety and, of course, more awesome food!! Love you!! 🙂


  1. 1 A Taste of Maui « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on August 3, 2011 at 10:59 pm

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 568 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


