Rosemary Beef Skewers with Horseradish Dipping Sauce

I don’t know why I’m surprised, but it’s actually getting a bit nippy here in Denver.  Last week, it was just cool in the evenings…  Today, I felt like I needed a jacket all day long.  Dr. O and I are so messed up with our seasons since it was spring in Australia and it’s basically summer in Texas until November.  It’s time to trade in the shorts, I’m afraid.

Since it’s getting a bit chilly for outdoor grilling and the heat from the broiler might actually be *welcome* in the kitchen at this point, I thought I would post Rosemary Beef Skewers with Horseradish Dipping Sauce from the March 2008 issue of Everyday Food.  It’s quick, easy, and flavorful, and it would be a great match with a bit of roasted butternut or acorn squash.

First, I soaked eight 6-inch wooden skewers in water for 10 minutes (longer is fine) to make sure they could withstand the heat of the broiler.  During the “soak time,” I preheated the broiler, lined a rimmed baking sheet with foil, and started making the garlic-rosemary mixture for the meat.

On a cutting board, I chopped 2 cloves of garlic and 2 tablespoons of fresh rosemary leaves.  I sprinkled the mixture with a bit of coarse salt and then pressed the blade of the knife back and forth across it to make a paste.  (I don’t think my technique was very good…  Just do what feels right until you have something paste-like.)  I transferred the paste to a medium bowl and stirred in 1 tablespoon of olive oil, 1 teaspoon of salt and 1/4 teaspoon of pepper.

Next, I cut 1 1/2 pounds of trimmed flatiron steak into twenty-four 1 1/2-inch chunks.  I added the steak to the bowl and tossed to coat it with the garlic-rosemary mixture.  I threaded 3 chunks of beef on each soaked skewer and placed them on the prepared baking sheet.

The recipe said to broil the skewers (without turning) 4 – 6 minutes for medium-rare meat; Dr. O and I like our steak closer to medium, so I went with 7 minutes.  While the meat was broiling, I threw together the horseradish dipping sauce, which was just 1/2 cup of reduced-fat sour cream, 1 tablespoon of prepared white horseradish (drained), and salt and pepper to taste.  I served the sauce alongside the skewers.

If you’re craving red meat, this is a great weeknight meal.  I absolutely loved the way the garlic-rosemary paste flavored the steak.  I have to admit that I wasn’t so crazy about the *cut* of meat; the flatiron steak was a bit chewy for my taste.  It’s pretty lean and reasonably priced (and it’s actually kind of hip right now, if steak can be hip!), so I’d be willing to give it another shot, though.  Even if you don’t try this particular recipe, I would strongly recommend trying the garlic-rosemary paste on any old steak you plan to cook.  It’s amazing!

TIPS: Don’t be afraid to ask your butcher for flatiron steak if you don’t see it on display.  Central Market didn’t have any in the case, but the butcher was happy to cut some for me.

Recipe link: Rosemary Beef Skewers with Horseradish Dipping Sauce

1 Response to “Rosemary Beef Skewers with Horseradish Dipping Sauce”



  1. 1 Garlic-Crusted Pork Loin with Mashed Acorn Squash « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on November 25, 2008 at 6:52 am

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


