Baby Spinach Salad with Tuna

Since I’m temporarily at home while we get our new place put together, I’ve had a little more time to think about what I want to eat for lunch.  I decided to step away from the Lean Cuisine (a rare occasion, for better or for worse!) and try the Baby Spinach Salad with Tuna recipe from the May 2006 issue of Everyday Food.  If you leave out the red onion (which I did, since there are few things in this world worse than raw red onion breath), the assembly time for this recipe is about the length of time it would take to heat up a frozen entree anyway.  Plus, it’s totally portable if you want to assemble it the night before and take it to work (or wherever).

To make the dressing, I whisked together 2 tablespoons of plain, low-fat yogurt, 1 1/2 teaspoons of Dijon mustard, and 1 tablespoon of lemon juice in a small bowl.  (Use a small airtight container or a resealable plastic bag if it’s a “to go” salad.)  I seasoned the dressing with salt and pepper and set it aside.

Next, I placed 3 cups of loosely-packed baby spinach and 1/2 cup of seedless red grapes (halved lengthwise) in a separate bowl.  To finish the salad, I drained 3 ounces of tuna, added it to the salad, and topped the salad with the dressing.  That was it!

This salad was a nice change of pace…  I loved the lemony dressing and the bit of sweetness from the grapes.  (I think red grapes tend to be less sweet than green; green might have been too much for the salad. Plus, we would miss out on the gorgeous color of the red grapes.)  To really make this sing, I would add drained oil-packed tuna instead of water-packed tuna and toasted pecans.  (Candied pecans might be even better.)  If you want to keep it light, though, stick with the original plan.

TIPS:  The recipe calls for 3 ounces of tuna, but I was only able to find 6-ounce tins.  Keep this in mind when you’re shopping for ingredients.  I ended up adding an extra bit of tuna to my salad, and then I made Miss Mia a *very* happy cat.

Recipe link: Baby Spinach Salad with Tuna

0 Responses to “Baby Spinach Salad with Tuna”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


