Chicken Cheesesteaks with Peppers

It’s Dr. O’s second week at the new practice, and I have to say – his arrival time at the end of the day has been a bit unpredictable.  I’m sure things will even out in the coming weeks, but for now, it’s been pretty difficult to pin down dinnertime.  The most logical solutions seem to be either Crock Pot meals (my pot just switches to a warming mode when the actual cook time is finished) or meals that are so quick that I can have them ready within about a half an hour of the “I’m coming home” call.  Chicken Cheesesteaks with Peppers from the October 2008 issue of Everyday Food is one of those quick meals…  It’s short on time, but it has fabulous flavor.

First, I heated my broiler with the rack set 4 inches from the heat.  The recipe calls for chicken cutlets (which I *still* have never managed to find in a grocery store), so next, I cut 1 pound of regular chicken breasts in half horizontally.  I placed the chicken cutlets on a rimmed baking sheet lined with aluminum foil, tossed them with 1 tablespoon of olive oil, and then seasoned them with salt and pepper.  I broiled the chicken without turning until it was opaque (6 minutes), and transferred the cooked cutlets to a cutting board to cool.

While the chicken was broiling, I removed the ribs and seeds from 2 bell peppers.  (I used 1 red and 1 orange.)  I thinly sliced the peppers, halved and thinly sliced 1 red onion, and peeled and thinly sliced 4 garlic cloves.  Once I had transferred the chicken to the cutting board, I put the peppers, onion, and garlic on the same foil-lined baking sheet and tossed the mixture with 1 tablespoon of olive oil.  I broiled the veggie mixture, tossing occasionally, until everything was crisp-tender and slightly charred (9 minutes).  I used the veggie broiling time to thinly slice the cooled chicken.

Once the veggies were done, I seasoned them with salt and pepper, added the sliced chicken to the mixture, and spread everything in a single layer.  I topped the chicken and veggies with 6 ounces of sliced provolone cheese (this equaled 8 slices in the package that I purchased) and put everything back under the broiler until the cheese was bubbly (1 minute).

I scooped out and discarded most of the doughy center from 4 hoagie rolls, spread each roll with 1 tablespoon of light mayonnaise, and filled the rolls with the chicken-cheese-veggie mixture.

It’s not a sophisticated recipe, but these sandwiches were SO yummy.  For starters, I adore roasted peppers.  Plus, the sweetness of the roasted garlic along with the creaminess of the light mayonnaise and the provolone cheese created an incredible flavor-texture combination.  To top it all off, the recipe makes great leftovers…  We had enough filling for three sandwiches the first night and two the next night.  I just popped the filling into the microwave for 2 minutes, gave it a good stir, prepped the rolls, and put everything together.  Talk about the PERFECT weeknight meal.

Recipe link: Chicken Cheesesteaks with Peppers

0 Responses to “Chicken Cheesesteaks with Peppers”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 566 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


