Request Line! Kraft Dinner and Tuna Sauce

How about some comedy on a Friday?

My dear friend Christopher LOVES the great state of Texas, so he asked that the final meal I cooked there be something he felt embodied the “Texas experience”: Kraft Dinner with Tuna Sauce.  Now, I must say that I never ate anything remotely like Kraft Dinner with Tuna Sauce during our time in Dallas, nor was anything like this served to me at a party or restaurant.  Dallas actually had incredible, amazing, fantastic food…  I SO miss Abacus, The Porch, and Judy’s home cooking.

Still, I decided to humor him.  (Maybe this is the West Texas experience?)  The recipe actually does involve making a bechamel sauce, which I can respect.  Plus, I upped the sophistication factor (if that’s even *possible* with this recipe) by using albacore tuna and organic macaroni and cheese.  So at least there’s a little Dallas in there somewhere.

First, I prepared a box of Annie’s Organic Macaroni and Cheese (so perhaps this is actually Annie’s Organic Macaroni and Cheese with Tuna Sauce?) according to package directions.  While the noodles boiled, I started the tuna sauce.

In a small saucepan, I melted 2 tablespoons of butter over medium-low heat.  Once the butter had melted, I added 2 tablespoons of flour, whisked the mixture to combine, and raised the heat to medium.  When things started to bubble, I added 1 cup of milk.  (I used 1% because that’s what we always have on hand; use whole milk for a creamier sauce.)

I whisked the mixture until it thickened (about 5 minutes) and then added 1 (drained) can of solid white albacore tuna.  Once the sauce was heated through, I seasoned it with salt and pepper, dished the macaroni into two bowls, and poured the sauce over the top.

Honestly, I was expecting this to be a bit gross, but it wasn’t half bad.  It seems like something you might serve to children in an attempt to get them to eat tuna.  I can’t see making this again in my kitchen, but this might be a good way to dress up boxed mac and cheese for any addicts out there, lol.

TIPS:  The sauce definitely needs salt, so don’t skip the seasoning step.

Recipe link: Kraft Dinner and Tuna Sauce

5 Responses to “Request Line! Kraft Dinner and Tuna Sauce”


  1. 1 Jennifer October 29, 2008 at 8:40 am

    You were very kind to humor poor, dear Christopher.

  2. 2 jfochek October 29, 2008 at 9:51 am

    As another gal who may be a bit “Texas sympathetic,” I’m sure you understand! 🙂

  3. 4 Molly April 10, 2009 at 4:09 am

    NO..no…no…This is not a Texas thing
    It’s Catholic Spaghetti. We had this on Fridays when we got tired of tuna casserole or fish sticks. I grew up in Omaha.

  4. 5 jfochek April 10, 2009 at 4:14 am

    I went to Catholic school in Omaha and I never enjoyed “Catholic spaghetti,” but it totally makes sense for those meat-free Lenten Fridays. Guess I missed out, huh? 🙂


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 566 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


