Marshmallow Bones

Drumroll, please…  I actually made marshmallows from scratch!  And I’m (obviously) so excited about it!

I picked up the October 2008 issue of Martha Stewart Living a few weeks ago because I wanted so badly to make batches and batches of Halloween treats.  There were so many cute ideas and I even collected a few ingredients, but I’m still in “move mode” and the month really got away from me.  This week, I realized it was now or never (or maybe 2009).  I kind of have a “thing” for marshmallows (I’ll eat the big ones straight from the bag as a treat), so I thought it would be fun to try the Marshmallow Bones recipe from the magazine.

To start, I lined 2 baking sheets with wax paper.  Next, I combined 1/2 cup of cold water and 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract in the bowl of my stand mixer.  I sprinkled 1/2 ounce (1 tablespoon) of unflavored gelatin over the top and let it stand until it was softened (5 minutes).

Meanwhile, I brought 1 1/2 cups of sugar, 1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons of light corn syrup, and 1/4 cup of cold water to a boil in a small saucepan.  I attached a candy thermometer to the side of the pan and cooked the mixture until it was about 235F.  As soon as it hit that temperature, I removed it from the heat.

Using the whisk attachment of my stand mixer, I whisked the gelatin mixture on high for 30 seconds.  With the machine running, I poured the hot sugar mixture down the side of the bowl in a slow, steady stream.  I continued whisking the mixture on high until it was very fluffy and almost stiff (9 minutes).  I transferred the mixture from the mixing bowl to a large pastry bag fitted with a 1/2-inch tip.

In a continuous motion, I piped a small figure 8, then a straight 5-inch line, then another small figure 8 onto the baking sheets to form the bones.  Getting a consistent shape was definitely the hardest part!  I also left quite a few “tips” after I piped the bones, so I used a small paintbrush to smooth them out.  I let the bones stand, uncovered, for 8 hours.

When they were sufficiently dry, I generously sifted powdered sugar over the tops, turned them to coat, and brushed off the excess.  (“Turned them to coat” sounds easy, but I actually used a small, offset spatula dipped in powdered sugar to help pry them off.  They didn’t resist *too* much and they held their shape quite well in the process, but it’s not like they slid effortlessly off of the wax paper.)

(Oopsie on the upside-down plate!)

Oh, my.  If you love marshmallows, this is the recipe for you.  They have a classic marshmallow taste – nothing unusual there – but the texture is just amazing.  They’re so incredibly fresh.  I’ll admit the recipe is a bit of work and you do need some special equipment (I wouldn’t want to give this a whirl without a stand mixer and a candy thermometer), but I think it’s worth it.  Plus, the marshmallows keep for 2 weeks in an airtight container, so you can continue to enjoy the fruits of your labor for days and days.

Now that I have a good basic recipe, I’d like to shake things up with different shapes and maybe some toasted coconut or chocolate ganache.  The possibilities are endless!

TIPS: The marshmallow mixture becomes harder to work with as it cools, so it’s a good idea to use a large pastry bag to get as much mixture as possible in the bag.  If you have to keep stopping to load a smaller pastry bag, you’ll lose precious time.

Recipe link: Marshmallow Bones

3 Responses to “Marshmallow Bones”


  1. 1 leslieann October 30, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    Mmmm… I’ve been wondering if marshmallows were gluten-free or not (flour is never listed in the ingredients, but they actually don’t have to list it if the food item is merely *coated* in it (ugh)). Anyway, verdict: safe! Looks delicious!

  2. 2 Kathie Q October 31, 2008 at 6:13 am

    I made the same recipe three days ago and I agree 100% with EVERYTHING you said. I used a hand mixer on high so it took a LOOONG time for the “batter” to triple in size and become fluffy. Working fast with a large pastry bag is a must.
    I agreed that tasted good. I had one batch turn out like yours but the last batch of “bones” were not as pretty because the batter started to harden. I will definitely make this recipe again. I agree with you this was a fun food project. I would recommend it for teens and not small kids. You have to work pretty fast to form the bones. The little ones could help pry the bones off of the paper and sprinkle them with powdered sugar however.
    Kathie


  1. 1 Daring Bakers’ Challenge: Chocolate Covered Marshmallow Cookies « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on August 4, 2009 at 8:09 am

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


