Spicy Skewered Shrimp

Dr. O put in a request for some seafood earlier this week (we don’t eat it often enough, truly!), so I decided to try the Spicy Skewered Shrimp recipe from the Dallas Morning News.  Grilled or baked shrimp is pretty consistently light, but this recipe packs major flavor.  I might need a few more like this one to carry us through the holiday dessert season… 🙂

I just made a half recipe for the two of us (which was actually 3 servings according to the recipe), so double it if you’re cooking for a larger group.  Also, I completely realize that this is supposed to be *skewered* shrimp and I thought my skewers were in the pantry, but they’re either (a) lost, or (b) hiding out in one of the yet-to-be-unpacked boxes.  The recipe still worked well without them.

First, I placed 1 pound of peeled and deveined shrimp in a large, shallow baking pan.  To make the marinade, I whisked together 1/4 cup of olive oil, 1 tablespoon of chili powder, 1 teaspoon of ground black pepper, 1 teaspoon of garlic salt, and 1/2 teaspoon of hot sauce in a small saucepan.  I brought the mixture to a boil over medium heat, poured it over the shrimp, and tossed them to coat.

The recipe said to bake the shrimp, uncovered, at 400F for 12 – 15 minutes.  My shrimp didn’t need nearly that much time.  I baked them for 8 minutes total, tossing them once in the middle of the cooking time, and they honestly probably would’ve been okay with only 6 – 7 minutes of cooking time.  I used medium shrimp, though; larger shrimp probably do need more time.  Just bake your shrimp until they’re opaque, since overcooked shrimp can be pretty rubbery.

When the shrimp were done cooking, I removed them from the oven and served them with green beans and French bread.

Spicy Skewered Shrimp

Talk about flavor!  These were *so* delicious and slightly zippy from the combination of spices.  Plus, it was ready in less than 20 minutes, which makes it perfect for a weeknight meal.  (This is only possible if you start with peeled and deveined shrimp, of course!  That process can take FOREVER.)

I’m going to stand by this recipe being light despite the 1/4 cup of olive oil because most of the marinade was left behind in the pan.  Next time, I think I’ll marinate the shrimp for 10 minutes before cooking to inject even more flavor, but I still think the amount absorbed will be minimal.

TIPS:  Definitely keep a CLOSE eye on the marinade when you’re bringing it to a boil.  It’s such a small amount and it boils quickly, even over medium heat.  I got distracted, had a “what’s that smell” moment, and came to find that I had burned all the spices in my mixture by letting it boil for a few minutes.  The recipe’s not so quick when you have to start over!

Also, I think this recipe could be dressed up enough for company if you use large, tail-on shrimp that are still peeled and deveined.  I’m going to pick some up at Tony’s (my new meat and seafood paradise!) the next time I give this a try.

Recipe link: Spicy Skewered Shrimp

0 Responses to “Spicy Skewered Shrimp”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 566 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


