High Altitude Update: Chicken Lasagna Alfredo

I made what may be my very favorite dish *ever* – Chicken Lasagna Alfredo from Pampered Chef’s Celebrate! – last night as a test for an upcoming dinner party.  It did require some minor adjustments (mostly on cooking time), so I thought I’d share for the benefit of any high-altitude readers.

I’ve pretty much abandoned the no-boil noodles since they burned me a few times with inconsistent results.  Last night, I used Barilla lasagna noodles and boiled them for 10 minutes.  (The package directions said 8 – 9 minutes and the recipe said to use the shortest cooking time, but it seems like my noodles have been needing an extra 2 – 3 minutes to cook since the boiling point of water is lower up here.)

I assembled the lasagna according to recipe directions, baked it initially (covered with foil) for 50 minutes instead of 45, and then browned it (uncovered) for 20 minutes instead of 15.  I probably could have actually browned it for 25 minutes (it didn’t actually get very brown), but I didn’t want to push my luck.  I let it sit for 15 minutes before cutting into it so the sauce could set a bit.

It turned out beautifully, almost better than it ever had before.  It was a bit saucier than usual, probably because I used pre-cooked noodles instead of no-boil noodles.  (The no-boil noodles would have absorbed some of the sauce to “cook.”)  It wasn’t runny, though, and it was so, so delicious.

I’m “high-altitude confident” on this one now. 🙂

NOTE:  You can actually assemble the lasagna 1 day ahead.  (So convenient!)  At sea level, increase the initial (covered) baking time from 45 minutes to 55 minutes for a refrigerated lasagna.  At approximately 5500 feet, I’ll increase the baking time from 50 minutes to 60 – 65 minutes.  The browning and setting times should be the same.

Original post: Chicken Lasagna Alfredo

Recipe link (slightly modified by poster): Chicken Lasagna Alfredo

0 Responses to “High Altitude Update: Chicken Lasagna Alfredo”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


