Turkey and White-Bean Chili

It has been sooo cold here in Denver lately.  We’re “warm” today at 39F…  It’s pretty sad when that feels almost balmy.  With last weekend’s record-setting cold (which is scheduled to repeat itself *this* weekend!), all I’ve been craving are warm, comforting foods.  Turkey and White-Bean Chili from the September 2003 issue of Everyday Food fit the bill.

In a large, deep skillet, I heated 2 tablespoons of canola oil over medium-high heat.  I added 1 pound of ground turkey (I bought 93% fat free) and seasoned with salt and pepper.  I cooked the turkey, breaking it up with a spoon, until it was browned (about 9 minutes).

Next, I added 1 large onion (chopped) to the skillet.  The recipe calls for 2 diced jalapenos at this point as well, but I left them out.  (We’re weak, I know!)  I cooked the mixture until the onion was soft (3 minutes) and then added 2 teaspoons of ground cumin and 1 tablespoon of tomato paste.  I cooked that mixture for 2 minutes.

Finally, I added 2 cans of cannellini beans (drained and rinsed), 2 cans of reduced-sodium chicken broth, and 1 cup of water.  I brought the mixture to a boil, reduced the heat, and simmered until the chili was thick (20 minutes).  I served it garnished with reduced-fat sour cream, sliced radishes, cilantro, and shredded cheese.

Turkey and White-Bean Chili

This wasn’t the best chili I’ve ever had or anything, but it hit the “warm comfort food” spot.  I’m sure the flavor would have been more intense with the jalapeno, but the cilantro filled things in nicely.  Can you believe this is the first time I’ve ever used radishes in my cooking?  I liked the crisp texture and peppery flavor they added to the chili.  Yum, yum.

TIPS:  I’m all about making substitutions to lighten dishes, but using 2% milk shredded cheese in this chili was a BIG mistake.  It’s strangely stringy, and it completely coated everything it touched (including our spoons and the roofs of our mouths).  Yuck.  I can’t say I’d buy it again.

Recipe link: Turkey and White-Bean Chili

0 Responses to “Turkey and White-Bean Chili”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 566 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


