Tomato and Spinach Pasta Toss

This one should be subtitled “Lazy, Easy Dinner,” I think.  Baking approximately 1 million sugar cookies to give as gifts last week zapped my kitchen energy, so I did something I rarely do these days – I fell back on a Kraft recipe.  Kraft recipes usually incorporate a few too many processed ingredients for my comfort level, but today’s recipe – Tomato and Spinach Pasta Toss – is pretty fresh, with the exception of canned tomatoes.  It was done in 20 minutes, it tasted great, and it packed a solid veggie punch, so I’m going to have to put it on the “good” list.

First, I boiled a pot of salted water and started cooking 2 cups of rotini pasta according to package directions.  Next, I removed the casings from 1/2 pound of mild Italian sausage and crumbled the meat into a large skillet.  I cooked the sausage over medium-high heat (breaking it up with a spoon) until it was browned and cooked through (about 10 minutes).  I drained it and returned it to the skillet, still over medium-high heat.

I added 1 package (6 ounces) of baby spinach and 1 can (14.5 ounces) of undrained Italian-style diced tomatoes to the skillet and then stirred and cooked the mixture until the spinach was wilted (about 2 – 3 minutes).  I removed the mixture from the heat and covered it to keep it warm.

When the pasta had finished cooking, I drained it and added it to the skillet along with 1 cup of grated mozzarella cheese and 2 tablespoons of grated Parmesan cheese.  I tossed the mixture together before serving.

Tomato and Spinach Pasta Toss

I rarely cook anything this simple these days, but I have to admit – it was good.  Plus, it was really convenient to take all of the elements of the meal – meat, starch, veggies, and dairy – from two cooking dishes straight to two plates.  Talk about easy clean up.  Why don’t I do this more often? 🙂

TIPS:  Be sure you don’t drain the tomatoes before you add them to the skillet.  The hot liquid helps the spinach wilt.

Recipe link: Tomato and Spinach Pasta Toss

1 Response to “Tomato and Spinach Pasta Toss”



  1. 1 Tomato-Sausage Lasagna « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on February 3, 2010 at 2:28 am

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 566 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


