Tortilla Soup with Black Beans

Is it just me, or is January official “sick time” for a significant percentage of the population?  Dr. O was sick over New Year’s, I’ve had a cold that just won’t let go (officially since the day *after* Dr. O recovered – nice, huh?), and it seems like most of our friends have had some sort of ailment in recent weeks.  Blah.

On those crappy “sick” days, soup just really seems to do the trick.  Chicken noodle is the classic, of course, but I thought it might be fun to try the Tortilla Soup with Black Beans recipe from the January 2009 issue of Everyday Food.  With only 15 minutes of effort required from start to finish, it’s the kind of meal I can handle whether I feel on top of my game or not.

First, I heated 1 tablespoon of olive oil in a large saucepan over medium heat.  I added 4 minced garlic cloves and and 1 teaspoon of chili powder, cooking and stirring the mixture until it was fragrant (1 minute).  Next, I added 2 cans (14.5 ounces each) of diced tomatoes (juice included), 2 cans (15 ounces each) of black beans (rinsed and drained), 1 can (14.5 ounces) of reduced-sodium chicken broth, 1 package (10 ounces) of frozen corn kernels, and 1 cup of water.

I seasoned the soup with salt and pepper, brought it to a boil, and then reduced it to a simmer.  I added 1 cup of crushed tortilla chips and cooked until they were softened (2 minutes).  Finally, I removed the soup from the heat, stirred in 1 tablespoon of fresh lime juice, and seasoned again with salt and pepper to taste.  I served the soup with extra crushed chips and lime wedges.

Tortilla Soup with Black Beans

(I really hate this picture.  I seem to be in a bit of a slump with the camera lately, which is why I hope to pick up some photo tips from a friend’s new photography blog.)

We really enjoyed this soup.  It isn’t zippy at all – how can it be in the absence of zippy ingredients? – but it *is* flavorful.  I especially enjoyed the hint of lime, plus you can really taste the “tortilla” flavor from the cooked chips.  Mmm.

This makes a TON of soup.  Dr. O and I had it for dinner one night, we had a friend over and served it with nachos the next day (football day!), and we *still* had soup leftover.  Leftovers sure make life easier, though, so I’m going to count quantity as a “pro” here.

Recipe link: Tortilla Soup with Black Beans

1 Response to “Tortilla Soup with Black Beans”


  1. 1 leslieann January 15, 2009 at 8:13 am

    My sister and I made this a couple weeks ago, but we added shredded roast beef and a lot more hot spices. It was delicious! In fact, the leftovers (which freeze very nicely) are STILL delicious.


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 566 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


