Daring Bakers’ Challenge: Tuiles

After a December hiatus, I’m back on the Daring Bakers bandwagon.  (I *severely* overestimated how motivated I would be to follow an eternally long recipe for an 8-layer dessert the morning after I returned from our Christmas travel.  It’s definitely easier to bake early and post later!)

This month’s challenge is brought to us by Karen of Bake My Day and Zorra of 1x umruehren bitte aka Kochtopf. They have chosen Tuiles from The Chocolate Book by Angélique Schmeink and Nougatine and Chocolate Tuiles from Michel Roux.  I’ll admit that I was so excited to see that (a) the ingredient list was short, (b) the time investment was minimal, and (c) the creative options were endless.  The hostesses simply asked that we use one of the provided batter recipes, shape it however we liked, and pair it with something light.

Making and chilling the batter was easy enough…  It was a lot like pancake or waffle batter.  The biggest challenge was spreading it as thinly as possible.  I attempted circles for my first batch and didn’t get the best results.  I piped the chilled dough onto a parchment-lined baking sheet, spread it thinly with a spatula, and baked as directed.  Unfortunately, the cookies turned out a bit thick, which meant they were hard to shape and were chewy in the center instead of crunchy.

For the second batch, I decided to make free-form hearts.  Basically, I piped out a “V” with the batter and then used a small spreader to spread it *thinly* into a heart shape.  I put the hot cookies over the (clean) necks of wine bottles to give them a bowl-like shape.  Once they had cooled, I piped homemade lemon mousse into the centers and topped each one with a blackberry and a sprinkle of powdered sugar.

Heart Tuilles

I would call this challenge a success; I think my tuiles turned out pretty cute.  I didn’t love them enough to make them my new “go to” cookie or anything, but it was nice to make something light after a holiday season of heavy goodies.  Yay for learning something new as well!

5 Responses to “Daring Bakers’ Challenge: Tuiles”


  1. 1 Anne January 30, 2009 at 4:26 pm

    Beautiful, I really like the heart-shaped cups 🙂

  2. 3 Alana January 30, 2009 at 8:28 pm

    These are so delicate and beautiful! WOnderful job!

  3. 4 teaandscones February 3, 2009 at 9:05 am

    I ‘heart’ your tuiles. Very creative. And with that big berry on top – perfection.


  1. 1 Daring Bakers’ Challenge: Dobos Torta « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on August 28, 2009 at 12:00 am

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 568 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


