Cuban Black-Bean Stew with Rice

My gosh, I haven’t blogged in FOREVER.  I apologize.  We closed on the house, my mom came to visit, and I just now feel like I’m getting caught up.  (Only to fall behind again, of course…  We found out yesterday that our landlady will allow us to terminate our lease as long as we’re in the new house by April 15.  It’s a blessing, really, in terms of saving money, but now I need to hustle my bustle.)

I’ll try to do better over these next few weeks until I completely dismantle my kitchen again.

Anyway, I made something so fantastic for dinner Sunday night that I just *had* to write about it – Cuban Black-Bean Stew with Rice from the September 2008 issue of Everyday Food.  It’s really quick and easy, but it tastes like it simmered on the stove for hours.

First, I cooked up some long-grain white rice according to package directions.  The recipe said to make 1 1/2 cups of dry rice, but I thought the quantity was a bit much.  Next time, I’ll just make 1 cup.

Once I had the rice going, I chopped 1 red bell pepper and 1 medium red onion.  I heated 1 tablespoon of olive oil in a large saucepan over medium heat and added the chopped pepper, chopped onion, and 1 minced garlic clove.  (I used the jarred stuff, I’ll admit.)  I cooked the mixture, stirring occasionally, until the onion was softened (about 8 minutes.)

Next, I added 2 cans of black beans (rinsed and drained), 1 can of vegetable broth, 1 tablespoon of cider vinegar, and 1/2 teaspoon of dried oregano.  I cooked the mixture, mashing some of the beans with the back of a spoon, until it was slightly thickened (about 8 minutes).  I served the bean stew over the cooked rice garnished with cilantro and a lime wedge.

Cuban Black-Bean Stew with Rice

Mmm, mmm, mmm!  This dish had truly terrific flavor.  I loved the onion base and the sweetness of the red pepper, and the cider vinegar added real depth of flavor.   Stirring the cilantro garnish into the dish and adding a squeeze of lime turns ho-hum white rice into cilantro-lime rice.  Dr. O compared this to the inside of a burrito from his very favorite place (any guesses?)…  I agree, and with this much flavor, I certainly didn’t miss the tortilla.  I can’t wait to make this one again.

TIPS:  Don’t skip the cilantro and the lime!  The added flavor is totally worth the extra ingredients.

Recipe link: Cuban Black-Bean Stew with Rice

1 Response to “Cuban Black-Bean Stew with Rice”


  1. 1 Kari March 18, 2009 at 9:26 am

    Could his favorite place possibly be….drumroll….Chipotle?!?! If so….then this is surely right up Jason’s alley. 🙂 I miss you soooo much, but I’m soooooo excited for yall’s first house!! I look forward to the many posts as you break in the new kitchen. 🙂 Maybe one day we’ll get to visit Denver and see if for ourselves, but I’m sadly beginning to think we won’t be travelling very much at all until Jason graduates…..stinkin’ orthodontics. 🙂 Love and miss you tons!!!!


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 566 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


