Update on April Daring Bakers’ Challenge

OK!  The cheesecake has been chilled, finished, and sampled.  Here’s the verdict:  It’s totally worth the time and effort.  I do have a few pros and cons to share with anyone who decides to try the recipe, though.  Let’s start with the bad news first…

Cons:

  • Despite the fact that the baking and cooling methods seemed tailored to prevent cracks in the cheesecake, mine cracked.  Big time.  I basically had a huge crack that went all the way around the top of my cheesecake, just about a half-inch in from the edge.  Maybe this is an altitude issue?  I’m curious to see if I get similar results with a different recipe.
  • The crust didn’t come out *at all* on the first piece I served.  I think this was my fault for not cutting through it all the way, but I didn’t want to damage the finish on my pan.  The pieces that came out after that first piece were just fine.

The pros:

  • Holy cow, this is a delicious cheesecake.  The lime zest I added to the batter added just enough lime flavor, and the creamy, sweet cheesecake went perfectly with the tartness of the fresh mango and kiwi I added to the top.  (Crafty way to mask the massive crack, eh?)
  • This cheesecake just might be texturally superior to all of the other cheesecakes I’ve baked.  I’m willing to bet it’s the use of heavy cream, and the lack of sour cream might make a difference as well.  And the texture of the crust?  AMAZING.  The chopped macadamia nuts were absolutely perfect.  (I chopped them pretty finely but not to the consistency of the graham cracker crumbs, so the pieces still had great crunch.)

Abbey's Infamous Cheesecake

I’m still not sure where the tripod is and I didn’t use my work light, so the photo isn’t the greatest.  You can still see my “mango mosaic,” though.  I did end up sprinkling toasted coconut on top of the mango before serving the cheesecake, but Dr. O said it looked a heck of a lot like pizza cheese.  (He was right.)  Anyway, we’re definitely looking forward to enjoying this over the next few days.

2 Responses to “Update on April Daring Bakers’ Challenge”


  1. 1 JennyBakes May 30, 2009 at 12:23 am

    It looks SO delicious. Sorry I’m a month late in posting, but I like what you did with this challenge!

    Jenny of JennyBakes


  1. 1 Daring Bakers Challenge: Abbey’s Infamous Cheesecake « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on May 4, 2009 at 8:39 pm

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 565 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


