Creamy Chipotle Shrimp Tostadas

It’s back to the grind!  My parents came to stay with us this past week, so we had our first houseguests in the new place.  We really enjoyed their visit, but I think one of the best things that came out of it is that I felt compelled to cook again.  Now I just need to feel compelled to *photograph* what I cook again…

Here’s my cooking rundown for the past week.  Last Saturday, I made pulled pork sandwiches, a two-bean salad, and strawberry spinach salad; Monday, I made a sausage and sundried tomato strata; Tuesday, I made a challah French toast with mixed berry jam; and last night, I “practiced” for an upcoming Gourmet Club meeting by making four different Mexican dishes from Rick Bayless’s Web site.  The recipe I want to share today is one of the appetizers from the Rick Bayless site: Creamy Chipotle Shrimp Tostadas (a.k.a. The Only Recipe I Managed to Photograph 🙂 ).  It’s quick, easy, delicious, and full of perfect summer flavors.

To make the shrimp mixture, I started by prepping my ingredients.  I cored and seeded 1 large red tomato, cut it into 1/4-inch dice, and placed it in a medium bowl.  Next, I opened a small can of chipotle chiles in adobo (you can find them in the ethnic food aisle at the grocery store) and added 2 tablespoons of the canning sauce to the diced tomato.  I removed 2 peppers from the can, slit each one open, scraped out the seeds, chopped them finely, and added them to the bowl as well.

To finish my prep, I finely diced 1 medium red onion, finely chopped 1 scallion (green parts only), minced 1 teaspoon of fresh thyme (leaves only), and chopped 2 1/2 tablespoons of fresh cilantro.  I added these ingredients to the bowl along with 3/4 cup of sour cream.

We can’t have shrimp tostadas without shrimp, right?  The recipe calls for 1 pound of tiny salad shrimp, but my grocery store didn’t have any (fresh *or* frozen!), so I just bought some cooked shrimp from the meat counter, removed the tails, and chopped the meat.  (I did locate salad shrimp at Safeway this morning, so I’ll have some tomorrow when I make it “for real.”)  I added the shrimp to the mixture, stirred everything together gently but thoroughly, and seasoned with salt to taste.  (I ended up using about 1 teaspoon of kosher salt.)

The recipe said to serve the mixture on homestyle tortilla chips or Guerrero-style chalupitas.  I just wanted to make sure the chip would be thick and sturdy enough for the shrimp mixture, yet small enough to be finger food.  I looked at Sunflower Farmer’s Market and King Soopers, and the best I could do was a bag of On The Border Premium Rounds.  So commercial and so *not* homemade, yes, but they worked out beautifully.  I finished the tostadas with a sprinkling of Mexican queso fresco.

Creamy Chipotle Shrimp Tostadas

I was a bit wary of the heat these might have since the last time I cooked with chipotles in adobo Dr. O and I couldn’t even finish our dinner (it was sad!), but removing the seeds made all the difference.  I loved the smoky flavor of the adobo sauce, the fresh bite of the scallion and cilantro, and the creamy coolness of the sour cream.  I think the tostadas will be a big hit at my meeting tomorrow, and I definitely plan on making them for parties at our place this summer.

TIPS:  This might be obvious, but just in case: You can make the shrimp mixture a couple of hours ahead, but don’t assemble the tostadas until just before you plan to serve them.  No one likes soggy chips!

Recipe link: Creamy Chipotle Shrimp Tostadas

1 Response to “Creamy Chipotle Shrimp Tostadas”



  1. 1 Cinco de Mayo All-Stars « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on May 4, 2012 at 10:02 pm

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 568 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


