Daring Bakers’ Challenge: Apple Strudel

It’s time for another Daring Bakers’ challenge (already!)…

The May Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Linda of make life sweeter! and Courtney of Coco Cooks. They chose Apple Strudel from the recipe book Kaffeehaus: Exquisite Desserts from the Classic Cafés of Vienna, Budapest and Prague by Rick Rodgers.

I can’t say I’ve ever considered *making* a strudel, but I do love the dessert.  We were encouraged to be creative with the filling, but apple just sounded soooo good, so I went with the recipe provided.

The most challenging part was definitely stretching the dough.  I let mine rest for two hours since the recipe indicated that a longer resting time was better.  I was amazed by how easily the dough stretched, but I was a bit frustrated when a few holes appeared once the dough sheet was getting large.  Like the hostesses indicated, though, the holes didn’t matter much once the strudel was rolled.

Speaking of rolling, thank heaven for the tablecloth tip in the recipe.  I’m not sure how one would roll such thin dough otherwise.  My strudel looked a bit goofy once I rolled it (and I even stopped an apple short of the recommended 2 pounds because I thought I might have a bit too much filling)…

Apple Strudel Unbaked

But it baked up beautifully.  The dough was flaky, the apples were tender (I did paper-thin slices instead of 1/4-inch-thick slices), the dessert itself wasn’t overly sweet.  The bites with the rum-soaked raisins were my favorite.  Mmmm.

Apple Strudel

When I was stretching the dough, I wasn’t sure the effort would be worth the result, but this was pretty delish.  Great challenge!

Recipe link: Apple Strudel

4 Responses to “Daring Bakers’ Challenge: Apple Strudel”


  1. 1 Dragon May 28, 2009 at 4:46 am

    I also decided to stay true to the recipe. Great job on this month’s challenge!

  2. 2 lisamichele May 28, 2009 at 5:26 am

    Nice looking apple strudel..absolutely perfect in execution! Great job!

  3. 3 squeaky mouse May 28, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    well done, your strudel looks delicious!

  4. 4 Claire May 29, 2009 at 8:24 am

    Fantastic job! I love how full and flaky it is.


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 566 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


