Daring Bakers’ Challenge: Chocolate Covered Marshmallow Cookies

The July Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Nicole at Sweet Tooth. She chose Chocolate Covered Marshmallow Cookies and Milan Cookies from pastry chef Gale Gand of the Food Network.

I’ve been super time-squeezed this month, so thankfully, it was OK to choose just one of the cookies.  Since I enjoyed making homemade marshmallows so much last October (Marshmallow Bones!), I decided to give the Chocolate Covered Marshmallow Cookies a try.

The challenge was easy overall, but I hit a few stumbling blocks.  Working with the cookie dough was a bit of a P.I.T.A.  I chilled it for several hours, but it quickly went from relatively firm to  soft and sticky.   It stuck to my silicone rolling pin, so I ended up rolling it out under waxed paper.  I didn’t have any trouble cutting it into 1 1/2-inch circles, but those circles did NOT want to release from my floured countertop.  I did the best I could and reshaped them a bit as I transferred them to the parchment-lined baking sheet.

The recommended baking time – 10 minutes at 375F – was perfect.  While the cookies cooled, I made the marshmallow (no problemo) and put it in a piping bag prepped with a round tip.  I piped a “kiss” of marshmallow onto the top of each cookie and let the cookies stand for two hours.

For the chocolate coating, I took the advice of a forum poster and used Crisco instead of cocoa butter (too hard to find) or vegetable oil (too runny?).  Once I had melted the chocolate and Crisco together, I used a fork to dip each cookie in the chocolate.  I had the best luck when I dropped the cookie in the chocolate with the fork (taking care not to touch the marshmallow), used the fork to drizzle chocolate over the cookie, and then scooped the cookie out from the bottom.  I shook the fork sideways a bit to let the excess chocolate run off and then transferred each cookie to a piece of wax paper.  I let the chocolate set for two hours before serving.

Chocolate Covered Marshmallow Cookies

These weren’t amazing, but they were certainly yummy.  I found myself wanting the cookie inside to be more like a crisp, flat disk; instead, the cookie was pretty airy and borderline cake-like.  The chocolate coating firmed up pretty nicely but it was still soft enough so that you’d leave fingerprints when you picked one up.  I ended up using a small spatula to transfer them into storage containers.

The cookies turned out, looked beautiful, and tasted good, so I’m calling this one a success.  Thanks for hostessing, Nicole!

Recipe link: I’m “blogless” until the 2nd, but check Nicole’s blog if you’re interested in the recipe.  I’ll link back to her post when I can.

0 Responses to “Daring Bakers’ Challenge: Chocolate Covered Marshmallow Cookies”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 568 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


