Halibut Meuniere

As I’m sure you all can tell from my Kauai food post, we were a bit indulgent on vacation.  After one night off (jet lag!), I decided to start the rest of the summer off right with a Cooking Light kick.  Halibut Meuniere was my first recipe choice…  With only 20 minutes of prep/cooking time and a short ingredient list, it was the perfect way to ease back into the kitchen.

First, I patted 4 halibut fillets (6 ounces each) dry with paper towels and sprinkled both sides with salt, pepper, and 1 teaspoon (total) of flour.  In a large nonstick skillet, I melted 1 1/2 teaspoons of butter over medium heat and then added the fish to the pan.  I cooked the fish for 5 minutes, turned it *carefully*, and cooked it 5 minutes more.  I transferred the fish to a plate and covered it with foil to keep it warm.

Next, I added 1 tablespoon of butter to the pan (still over medium heat) and cooked it for 1 minute, swirling the pan to prevent burning.  I removed the pan from the heat and stirred in 2 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice to make a lemon-butter sauce.  To serve, I drizzled each halibut fillet with the sauce and then sprinkled each fillet with a pinch of salt and chopped parsley.  We had roasted fingerling potatoes and sweet peas on the side.

Halibut Meuniere

The fish turned out really tasty.  I loved the way just that little bit of flour and butter formed a delicious, crispy crust on both sides of the fish.  The lemon-butter sauce at the end added great flavor, giving the dish a fresh edge and just a hint of richness at the same time.  This dish was light, quick, and easy…  What’s not to love?  (Except the price of halibut, of course. 🙂 )

Recipe link: Halibut Meuniere

4 Responses to “Halibut Meuniere”


  1. 1 Stephanie August 20, 2009 at 2:16 am

    This looks good. I love fish and I like to learn new ways to cook it since it can sometimes get boring. I’ll have to try this.

    So did you end up at Crate and Barrel the other day for mini cast iron pans? 😉

    • 2 jfochek August 21, 2009 at 4:22 am

      I did end up at Crate and Barrel, but no mini cast iron pans just yet. I *will* get them, though, along with a full-size one to replace the one I managed to destroy in Dallas. (And you thought cast iron was indestructible… 😉 )

      Did you just use any old chocolate chip cookie recipe or do you have one especially for the stovetop?

      • 3 Stephanie August 21, 2009 at 10:50 pm

        Wow…how did that happen?!

        We actually didn’t make them on the stovetop, we still baked them in the oven. We just used a recipe out of the Better Homes and Gardens binder cookbook thingy (that’s the technical term, haha) but we baked them for less time than the recipe called for. 🙂


  1. 1 Quick and Easy Valentine’s Day Recipes « Sweet and Saucy Trackback on February 10, 2010 at 8:09 am

Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 566 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


