Cucumber Salad with Sour Cream and Dill Dressing

I figured I had better post one of my favorite summer sides before cookout season slips away – Cucumber Salad with Sour Cream and Dill Dressing from the June 2007 issue of Everyday Food.  It’s a perfect compliment to burgers and brats, the ingredient list is short and simple, and it can be made a few hours before company arrives.

To prep my ingredients, I halved 1 pound of Kirby cucumbers lengthwise and then thinly sliced them crosswise.  I also chopped a handful of fresh dill to produce 2 tablespoons and squeezed 1 lemon to produce 2 tablespoons of fresh juice.

In a medium bowl, I combined 1/2 cup of reduced-fat sour cream, the 2 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice, and the 2 tablespoons of chopped fresh dill.  I seasoned the mixture with salt and pepper to taste and whisked it well to combine.  To finish the dish (already!), I added the sliced cucumbers and tossed everything to coat.  The salad can be served immediately, or you can refrigerate it up to four hours.  Garnish it with a bit more dill for better presentation before serving.

Cucumber Salad with Sour Cream and Dill Dressing

This salad is just so light, fresh, and delicious – it’s perfect for summer.  Plus, it’s so easy that you can make it any night of the week.  We love it!

TIPS:  If you can’t find Kirby cucumbers, hothouse or English cukes will work fine as well.

Recipe link: Cucumber Salad with Sour Cream and Dill Dressing

2 Responses to “Cucumber Salad with Sour Cream and Dill Dressing”


  1. 1 Vicki Matthai August 27, 2009 at 11:05 pm

    This is one of Chuck’s favorite dishes. I make it for him alot during the summer when cucumbers and dill are fresh from the garden. Went and saw Julia/Julie last night and thought of you. Thought I read Jenny’s blog all the time and never sent her a comment… maybe I should, so I will do so more often. Happy cooking and we’ll share thoughts.

    • 2 jfochek August 27, 2009 at 11:09 pm

      Thanks for the comment, Vicki! Aren’t cucumbers the best? I could eat that salad every day, I think.

      I saw Julie & Julia this weekend and absolutely loved it, though I won’t be deboning a duck anytime soon. 😉 Hope all is well with you and Chuck!


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 566 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


