Daring Bakers’ Challenge: Vols-au-Vent

I’m late, I’m late, for a very important date!

The September 2009 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Steph of A Whisk and a Spoon. She chose the French treat vols-au-vent, based on the puff pastry recipe by Michel Richard from the cookbook Baking With Julia by Dorie Greenspan.

I debated skipping this challenge because I just couldn’t pull it off by yesterday (the 300 sorority cookies and an out-of-town wedding got in the way), but I figured late was better than never with this one.  See, I had always joked that as much as I like to make things from scratch, puff pastry was not (and probably never would be) one of those things.  I had developed the impression somewhere along the way that it would be two days of hair pulling, teeth grinding, and general misery.  I was so wrong.

Making the puff pastry did take some time, but that was the only challenge.  Maybe I’m just getting more comfortable with dough these days, but everything happened exactly as indicated in the recipe provided.  I was even able to give my dough four turns the first time around, which really saved some time.

Since my vols-au-vent were miniature, my initial baking time (with the parchment on top) was 10 minutes.  I went with an additional 15 minutes at 350F, though I think I could have browned them a bit more.  I filled the vols-au-vent with a vanilla-pumpkin pudding and then topped them with cinnamon whipped cream and a hint of fresh grated nutmeg.  With the flavors and the flaky pastry dough, they were like two-bite pumpkin pies!

Vols-au-Vent

This is why I love the Daring Bakers community; another “I never” is now an “I did.”  Thanks for a great challenge!

Recipe link: Vols-au-Vent

11 Responses to “Daring Bakers’ Challenge: Vols-au-Vent”


  1. 1 leslieann September 29, 2009 at 6:09 am

    Those are adorable, and I’m sure they were equally delicious!

  2. 2 Madam Chow September 29, 2009 at 6:11 am

    The filling sounds fabulous. And I kept putting it off, too, but I’m so glad I did this challenge!

  3. 3 jo September 29, 2009 at 6:21 am

    Looks delicious and wish I could have a taste of that pumpkin pudding.

  4. 4 Stephanie September 29, 2009 at 7:59 am

    These look awesome! I can’t wait to do the challenge next month!

  5. 5 Kelly Mecker September 29, 2009 at 8:35 am

    Looks delicious! I was going to fill mine with a pumpkin pie kind of filling too, but ran out of time, and didn’t have any pumpkin in the house. Ha!

  6. 6 Beth(MackAttack) September 29, 2009 at 8:52 am

    Wow those look tasty!!!! vanilla pumpkin pudding sounds amazing

  7. 7 allyall September 29, 2009 at 9:56 am

    Love the mini pumpkin pie filling. Looks delicious!

  8. 8 capecodbarbie September 29, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    Wow those look delish!!

  9. 9 Lori September 30, 2009 at 8:46 am

    How perfect for this time of year! These look fantastic!

  10. 10 Jill September 30, 2009 at 10:19 am

    I love your filling choice! They look delicious! 🙂

  11. 11 Megan October 1, 2009 at 8:01 am

    Vanilla pumpkin pudding sounds delicious! I love these challenges for the same reason… the “I never” changes to an “I did!”


Leave a Reply

The Daring Kitchen

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 568 other followers

I want to cook…

Archives


